Commission on the Standardization of the Collection of Evidence in Sexual Assault Investigations

Minutes of the Meeting of March 21, 2011

Office of the Chief State's Attorney
Rocky Hill

Present were Chair Maureen Platt Temchin, Robert Allensworth, Linda Cimino, Michelle Noehren, Candida Fusco, Patti Lamonica, Marielle Daniels, Nancy Kushins, John Leventhal, Michael Custer.

  • Minutes from the December 21, 2010 minutes were accepted.
  • A letter was approved by the Commission which explains many of the recent changes to the Technical Guidelines and will be distributed in conjunction with copies of the guidelines.
  • It was reported that the new Sexual Assault Kits, CT-100 have now arrived.
  • Linda Cimino reported that the Sexual Assault Forensic Examiner Program (SAFE) is now operating in all six identified hospitals.
  • Linda Cimino reported the Office of Victim Services is now processing an average of 72 bills from healthcare facilities per month.
  • Two recommended changes to CGS 19a-112a were discussed and approved by the Commission. The first proposed amendment would make a representative from Office of Victim Services a statutory member of the Commission. The second change would make the Office of Victim Services responsible for the cost of any medical forensic assessment interview or medical physical examination for a victim of sexual assault under certain circumstances.