Minutes of Meeting
Thursday, July 21, 2011

The Criminal Justice Commission met on Thursday, July 21, 2011, at the Office of the Chief State’s Attorney in Rocky Hill, for the purpose of the reappointment of the Chief State’s Attorney, and any other business that may come before the Commission.

The following members were present:  Justice Richard N. Palmer, Chairperson, Judge Juliett L. Crawford, Attorney Mary M. Galvin, Attorney Maura H. Horan, Attorney Ann G. Taylor, and Chief State’s Attorney Kevin T. Kane.  Attorney Moy N. Ogilvie participated by conference call.  Also present:   Equal Employment Opportunity Specialist Patricia Alston.

The meeting, which was open to the public, commenced at 9:18 a.m. in the conference room.   Judge Crawford made a motion, seconded by Attorney Galvin, to approve the minutes of the meetings of June 6, 2011, and June 7, 2011.  The motion passed unanimously. 

Justice Palmer announced the retirement notice dated July 19, 2011, from Scott J. Murphy, State’s Attorney of the Judicial District of New Britain, effective October 1, 2011.  Notice and advertisement of the position will occur immediately with the goal of selecting State’s Attorney Murphy’s successor prior to his departure. 

Justice Palmer also announced the retirement notice dated July 7, 2011, from Patricia Alston, the Commission’s Equal Employment Opportunity Specialist, effective December 30, 2011. 

Judge Crawford advised that Valerie Kennedy of the Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities (CHRO) is available to attend a future Commission meeting to explain how CHRO selects goal candidates.

Discussion ensued regarding the budget situation and its effect on the Division of Criminal Justice, in terms of the nature and scope of staff reductions the Division will face by September 1, 2011.

At approximately 10:30 a.m., Attorney Taylor made a motion to go into executive session to discuss the reappointment of the Chief State’s Attorney, at which time the Chief State’s Attorney excused himself from the meeting.  The motion was seconded by Attorney Horan and passed unanimously. 

Following the executive session, the Commission resumed its public meeting at approximately 10:37 a.m., at which time the Chief State’s Attorney rejoined the meeting, but did not participate.  Attorney Taylor moved for the reappointment of Attorney Kevin T. Kane as Chief State’s Attorney for a five-year term; Attorney Horan seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.

At approximately 10:45 a.m., the meeting was adjourned.

Kevin T. Kane, Esq.
Secretary, Criminal Justice Commission