Minutes of Meeting
Monday, May 23, 2011

The Criminal Justice Commission met on Monday, May 23, 2011, at the Office of the Chief State’s Attorney in Rocky Hill, for an introductory discussion of practices and procedures for the benefit of new members; reappointment of the Chief State’s Attorney; and any other business that may come before the Commission.

The following members were present: Justice Richard N. Palmer, Chairman, Judge Juliett L. Crawford, Attorney Mary M. Galvin, Attorney Maura H. Horan, Attorney Moy N. Ogilvie, Attorney Ann G. Taylor, and Chief State’s Attorney Kevin T. Kane.

The meeting, which was open to the public, commenced at 10:15 a.m. Justice Palmer explained that meetings are open to the public and meeting minutes are made available to the public, except for executive sessions. Diversity efforts, per diem prosecutors and the reappointment process for the Chief State’s Attorney were discussed. The Chief State’s Attorney excused himself from the meeting during the reappointment discussion. (For this purpose, the Chief State’s Attorney is not a Commission member.)

At approximately 10:27 a.m., Chief State’s Attorney Kane returned to the meeting.  Attorney Horan made a motion to accept the minutes from the January 24, 2011, meeting. The motion was seconded by Attorney Taylor and approved unanimously.

Equal Employment Opportunity Specialist Patricia Alston joined the Commission to answer questions pertaining to the Commission’s affirmative action plan. Ms. Alston was asked to provide members with copies of the plan and to determine whether the plan may be posted on the website.

At approximately 10:55 a.m., the meeting was adjourned.

Kevin T. Kane, Esq.
Secretary, Criminal Justice Commission