Criminal Justice Commission

Minutes of Meeting
June 2, 2009

The Criminal Justice Commission met on Tuesday, June 2, 2009, at the Office of the Chief State’s Attorney in Rocky Hill for the purpose of interviewing three of nine candidates for the appointment of Deputy Chief State’s Attorney for Operations at the Office of the Chief State’s Attorney and five State’s Attorneys whose terms end June 30, 2009, and for any other business.

The following members were present: Justice Richard N. Palmer, Chairman, Judge Thomas Bishop, Attorney Maura Horan, Attorney Ann Taylor, Attorney Garrett Moore, Attorney Alfred Turco, and Chief State’s Attorney Kevin T. Kane. Affirmative Action Officer Patricia Alston was also present. No members of the public were present.

The meeting, open to the public, commenced at approximately 9:05 a.m. The minutes of the Wednesday, May 6, 2009 conference call were approved unanimously.

The Commission then took up the vacancy of the Deputy Chief State’s Attorney for Operations at the Office of the Chief State’s Attorney and interviewed, in turn, Attorney Mary Galvin, Attorney Michael Gailor and Attorney John Malone. The Chief State’s Attorney is not a member of the Commission for the purpose of appointing the Deputy Chief State’s Attorney and did not participate in these interviews, but was present.

At approximately 11:20 a.m. the Commission recessed.

At approximately 1:30 p.m. the Commission, including the Chief State’s Attorney, resumed its public meeting and interviewed the five State’s Attorneys up for reappointment. They interviewed in turn, State’s Attorney Michael Dearington, State’s Attorney Patricia Froehlich, State’s Attorney Matthew Gedansky, State’s Attorney Michael Regan and State’s Attorney David Shepack.

The Commission then went into executive session at 2:45 p.m. on the motion of Attorney Garrett Moore and seconded by Attorney Alfred Turco.

Following the executive session the Commission resumed its public meeting at approximately 2:56 p.m.

Chief State’s Attorney Kevin Kane moved for the reappointment of all five State’s attorneys. The motion was seconded by Attorney Alfred Turco. The motion passed unanimously.

At approximately 3:00 p.m. the meeting was adjourned.

Kevin T. Kane
Criminal Justice Commission