Margaret E. Kelley Appointed State's Attorney for Judicial District of Ansonia/Milford

The Honorable Andrew J. McDonald, Chair of the Criminal Justice Commission, announced that the Commission has appointed Margaret E. Kelley as State’s Attorney for the Judicial District of Ansonia/Milford.

Attorney Kelley was appointed for an eight-year term succeeding Kevin D. Lawlor, who served as State’s Attorney from June 2006 until his appointment in June of this year as Deputy Chief State’s Attorney for Operations.

The State’s Attorney is the chief law enforcement officer for the Judicial District of Ansonia/Milford, which includes the cities of Milford, Ansonia, Derby, Shelton and West Haven and towns of Beacon Falls, Orange, Oxford and Seymour. The State’s Attorney oversees criminal prosecutions at the Superior Courts in Milford and Derby and shares responsibility for oversight of juvenile prosecutors assigned to the Superior Courts for Juvenile Matters in Bridgeport, New Haven and Waterbury.

State’s Attorney Kelley joined the Division of Criminal Justice in 1987 in the Office of the Chief State’s Attorney. She transferred to Bridgeport Superior Court, G.A. No. 2, in 1992 and served there until 2001 when she was transferred to the Part A court in Bridgeport where more serious cases are heard. In 2015, she was promoted to Supervisory Assistant State’s Attorney at G.A. No. 2, where she has supervised ten prosecutors, four investigators and support staff.

State’s Attorney Kelley earned her Bachelor of Arts Degree in Sociology and Social Work from the University of Saint Joseph in West Hartford and her Juris Doctor Degree from Western New England College School of Law in Springfield, Mass.

Established pursuant to Article XXIII of the Connecticut Constitution, the Criminal Justice Commission is responsible for the appointment of all state prosecutors in Connecticut. In addition to Justice McDonald, Associate Justice of the Connecticut Supreme Court, its membership includes the Honorable Juliett L. Crawford, Judge of the Superior Court, attorneys Mary M. Galvin, Eric George, Moy N. Ogilvie and Erick A. Russell and Chief State’s Attorney Kevin T. Kane.