Criminal Justice Commission Reappoints State’s Attorneys for Hartford, Waterbury Judicial Districts

The Honorable Richard N. Palmer, Chair of the Criminal Justice Commission, announced today that the Commission has reappointed Gail P. Hardy as State’s Attorney for the Judicial District of Hartford and Maureen Platt as State’s Attorney for the Judicial District of Waterbury. Both appointments are for eight-year terms commencing July 1, 2012.

"The Division of Criminal Justice and the people of the State of Connecticut have been well-served by these dedicated public servants, and the Commission is proud to reappoint both," Justice Palmer said. "The Commission appreciates the knowledge, the understanding and the commitment that State’s Attorneys Hardy and Platt have demonstrated as valued members of the Division’s senior management."

Attorney Hardy was appointed State’s Attorney for the Judicial District of Hartford effective August 1, 2007, to succeed James E. Thomas, who retired. As State’s Attorney she is the chief law enforcement officer for the Judicial District of Hartford, which includes the capital city and 18 surrounding communities.

She joined the Division of Criminal Justice as a Deputy Assistant State's Attorney at Geographical Area No. 4 in Waterbury in February 1996. She was advanced to Assistant State's Attorney in March 1998. She transferred to the State’s Attorney’s Office for the Judicial District of Waterbury (Part A) in February 2000, and was designated Senior Assistant State's Attorney in April 2006. Prior to joining the Division of Criminal Justice, she had previous experience as a probation officer and a public defender.

Attorney Platt was appointed State’s Attorney on June 7, 2011, to succeed John A. Connelly, who retired. She is chief law enforcement official for the Judicial District of Waterbury, which includes the city of Waterbury and the towns of Middlebury, Naugatuck, Prospect, Southbury, Watertown, Wolcott and Woodbury.

She first joined the Division of Criminal Justice in 1982 as a prosecutor in the Office of the Chief State’s Attorney. She was in private practice from 1987-1996, when she returned to the Division at Bridgeport Superior Court, G.A. No. 2. She was assigned to Middletown in 2000 where she was a Senior Assistant State’s Attorney in the Part A court at the time of her appointment as State’s Attorney for Waterbury.

Established under Article XXIII of the Connecticut Constitution, the Criminal Justice Commission is responsible for the appointment of all state prosecutors in Connecticut. In addition to Justice Palmer, Associate Justice of the Connecticut Supreme Court, its membership includes the Honorable Juliett L. Crawford, Judge of the Superior Court, attorneys Mary M. Galvin, Maura Hughes Horan, Moy N. Ogilvie and Ann G. Taylor and Chief State’s Attorney Kevin T. Kane.