Brian Preleski Reappointed New Britain State’s Attorney

The Honorable Richard N. Palmer, Chair of the Criminal Justice Commission, announced today that the Commission has reappointed Brian Preleski as State’s Attorney for the Judicial District of New Britain.

The appointment, by unanimous vote of the Commission at its meeting today in Rocky Hill, is for an eight-year term commencing July 1, 2014.

“In the short 2 ½ years since his appointment as State’s Attorney, Brian Preleski has distinguished himself as a valuable member of the senior management team of the Division of Criminal Justice,” Justice Palmer said. “His is an outstanding leader both as an attorney and administrator.”

Attorney Preleski was appointed State’s Attorney effective October 1, 2011, to succeed Scott J. Murphy, who retired. The state’s attorney is the chief law enforcement officer for the Judicial District of New Britain, which includes the cities of New Britain and Bristol and eight surrounding communities.

He is responsible for the supervision of the prosecutors’ offices at the Part A Judicial District Superior Court in New Britain, the G.A. No. 15, New Britain, and G.A. No. 17, Bristol, courts and the Superior Court for Juvenile Matters and Housing sessions at New Britain.

Attorney Preleski joined the Division of Criminal Justice in 1993. He earned his B.A. Degree magna cum laude from the University of Connecticut in 1987 and his J.S. with High Honors from the University of Connecticut School of Law in 1991. He was a JAG Officer in the United States Army Reserve from 2001-2008 and since 2005 has been on the Adjunct Faculty at Saint Joseph College. He was in private practice from 1991-93.

The Criminal Justice Commission was established by Article XXIII of the Connecticut Constitution and is responsible for the appointment of all state prosecutors in Connecticut. It is chaired by Justice Palmer, an Associate Justice of the state Supreme Court. In addition to Justice Palmer, its membership includes the Honorable Juliett L. Crawford, Judge of the Superior Court, attorneys Mary M. Galvin, Maura Hughes Horan, Moy N. Ogilvie and Ann G. Taylor and Chief State’s Attorney Kevin T. Kane.