NOTICE: Coronavirus Guidance for School Districts: Per Governor’s executive order, in-school class cancellations remain in effect until at least April 20, 2020.
Emergency Meal Programs: The State Department of Education is authorizing two distinct categories of COVID-19 Emergency Meal Programs in accordance with federal requirements: 1) COVID-19 Emergency Meal Program Limited to Students Attending School in Specific Districts. School districts on this list are only authorized to serve meals to students attending their schools, and any other child age 18 years or younger residing in the same household; 2) COVID-19 Community-wide Emergency Meal Program for Children. Any child age 18 years or younger can receive meal(s) at any meal service and distribution sites in these towns/cities. They do not have to be a resident or attend school in these towns/cities. Check these links often as more locations continue to be added.

Healthy Food Certification (HFC)


School Nutrition Programs | Program Guidance | Forms | Resources | Nutrition Education
Beverage Requirements | Competitive Foods | CNS | List of Acceptable Foods and Beverages

Healthy Food Certification (HFC) under Section 10-215f of the Connecticut General Statutes requires that each board of education or governing authority for all public schools participating in the National School Lunch Program (NSLP) must certify annually to the Connecticut State Department of Education (CSDE) whether the district will follow the Connecticut Nutrition Standards (CNS) for all foods sold to students separately from reimbursable school meals.

The CNS applies to all sources of food sales on school premises at all times including, but not limited to, school stores, vending machines, school cafeterias, and any fundraising activities on school premises. Districts that choose the healthy food option of HFC receive an additional 10 cents per lunch, based on the total number of reimbursable lunches (paid, free, and reduced) served in the prior school year.

HFC Overview

List of HFC Districts (School Year 2019-20)