To protect the health and safety of the public and our employees, the Department of Banking has limited the number of employees at our office at 260 Constitution Plaza in Hartford. When contacting the Department, please use electronic communication whenever possible. Consumers are encouraged to use our online form for complaints. If you are unsure where to send an inquiry, you may send it to and it will be routed appropriately. Thank you for your patience during this time.

The Department of Banking News Bulletin

 Bulletin # 1820
Week Ending January 8, 1999

This bulletin constitutes the only official notification you will receive from this office concerning any of the following applications. Any observations you may have are solicited. Any comments should be in writing to John P. Burke, Banking Commissioner, at the Connecticut Department of Banking, 260 Constitution Plaza, Hartford, CT 06103-1800 or via E-mail to Written comments will be considered only if they are received within ten days from the date of this bulletin.

Branch Activity

Section 36a-145 of the Connecticut General Statutes requires that each application for a branch, or for a limited branch at which loans will be made, be accompanied by a plan detailing how adequate services to meet the banking needs of all community residents will be provided. Plans are submitted when such applications are filed and are available for public inspection and comment at this Department for a period of 30 days. Questions concerning branch activity should be directed to the Bank Examination Division, (860) 240-8180.
Note: dates are listed in month/day/year format.

Date Bank Location Activity
1/04/99 Tolland Bank
FROM: 97-103 Main Street
          Hebron, CT 06248
TO:     31 Main Street
          Hebron, CT 06248
date of


On January 4, 1999, approval was granted to KeyCorp, an Ohio corporation, to establish an office of its subsidiary, Champion Mortgage Co., Inc. a New Jersey corporation, at 2139 Silas Deane Highway, Rocky Hill, Connecticut.

Dated: Tuesday, January 12, 1999

John P. Burke
Banking Commissioner