Commercial Junior Operator Certification3/11/2021, E-License, a new online licensing service is now live and accepting certification applications for Pesticide Operators. If you already have a Connecticut pesticide certification, please contact us by email, for your login information. If you do not have an account follow the instructions on the page below, please read carefully.Study Material
Junior Operator Study Manual *required study material
Pertinent Pesticide General Statutes and Regulations for Junior Operators * required study material
Junior Operator Certification Requirements
- An applicant must be at least 18 years old.
- Pass a written examination (given in English only).
- The exam is 60 single answer multiple choice questions, you must get at least 80% to pass.
Who should have a Junior Operator Certification?
- Any person who applies pesticides or assists in the commercial application of pesticides in Connecticut, in other than a supervisory capacity, must have a junior operational certification (also called a junior operator license).
- Any person who is hired to do pesticide application work for a commercial company will need an operational certificate.
- Any certified supervisor doing work outside a category they do not have.
- Any person not employed by a commercial business (examples include: golf course, property management, and government employees), but applying any restricted-use pesticide must also have a junior operator's certification and work under the supervision of a certified supervisor.
What to Expect
- After making an account on elicense and signing up for your desired test allow 3-10 days to receive an email from Everblue ( the exam proctoring service)
- Everblue will email indicating that a $21 fee must be paid, after this fee is paid you will have 60 days to take your exam. They will immediately send you the exam link
- After the exam has been taken please allow 4-10 days to have your score entered. If you pass your exam you will be emailed a copy of your certification. If you fail, you will get an exam fail notice via email with a retest fee assigned to it
Registering for the Exam
Each examination requires a fee of $200.00, payable to DEEP.
There is a $21 fee through Everblue, our proctoring service, in order to take the exam online through their platform
A re-examination appointment requires another application and $200.00 fee.
No fee is charged to federal, state or municipal employees who apply pesticides as part of his or her duties as a governmental employee; however, any certificate for which a fee is not charged is automatically void if the holder is no longer a government employee.
If a governmental employee wishes to convert the governmental certification to a commercial certification, he or she would need to pay the $200.00 exam fee, please contact the Pesticide Management Program to make this change.
- The operator's certificate must be renewed prior to the expiration date that appears on the certificate. The Pesticide Management Program will email renewal information to the certified operator prior to the expiration of the certificate.
- There is an $80 renewal fee every 5 years
- In accordance with state regulation 22a-66-5(e), if your address or email changes, you must notify the Pesticide Management Program within 30 days.
- Note: The fee is waived for Government employees who will be using the certificate only for their governmental affiliation.
For more information please call the Pesticide Management Program at (860) 424-3369, or email firstname.lastname@example.org
Content Last updated on July 28, 2022