Press Releases

Division of Criminal Justice logo


David R. Applegate Appointed State’s Attorney for the Judicial District of Danbury

The Honorable Andrew J. McDonald, Chair of the Criminal Justice Commission, announced that the Commission has appointed David R. Applegate as State’s Attorney for the Judicial District of Danbury.

Attorney Applegate was appointed for an eight-year term succeeding Stephen J. Sedensky III who recently retired after serving as Danbury State’s Attorney since February 2007. State’s Attorney Applegate will complete the remainder of former State’s Attorney Sedensky’s term, which expires on June 30, 2026.

At the Commission’s meeting Monday at the Legislative Office Building in Hartford, the appointment was approved by a unanimous vote.

"I congratulate State’s Attorney Applegate on his appointment to this important position as an integral part of the senior management in the Division of Criminal Justice," Justice McDonald said. “The Commission wishes State’s Attorney Applegate the very best as the Division moves forward to address the critical issues facing the criminal justice system today.”

The State’s Attorney is the chief law enforcement officer for the Judicial District of Danbury which includes the communities of Bethel, Brookfield, Danbury, New Fairfield, Newtown, Redding, Ridgefield and Sherman.

State’s Attorney Applegate joined the Division of Criminal Justice in 2006 as a Deputy Assistant State’s Attorney in the Stamford State’s Attorney’s Office. In 2015, he transferred to the Cold Case/Shooting Task Force Bureau in the Office of the Chief State’s Attorney in Rocky Hill before joining the Office of the State’s Attorney in the Fairfield Judicial District in 2018. Prior to his service for the state of Connecticut, Attorney Applegate worked in private practice in New York City from 2004 to 2006.

State’s Attorney Applegate earned a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Political Science from Lehigh University in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, and a Juris Doctor Degree from Brooklyn Law School in New York.

Established under Article XXIII of the Connecticut Constitution, the Criminal Justice Commission is responsible for the appointment of all state prosecutors in Connecticut. In addition to Justice McDonald, Associate Justice of the Connecticut Supreme Court, its membership includes Appellate Court Judge Melanie L. Cradle, attorneys Reginald Dwayne Betts, Robert M. Berke, Scott J. Murphy, Moy N. Ogilvie and Chief State’s Attorney Patrick J. Griffin.