Press Releases

Division of Criminal Justice logo


David R. Shannon Appointed State's Attorney for Judicial District of Litchfield

The Honorable Andrew J. McDonald, Chair of the Criminal Justice Commission, announced today that the Commission has appointed David R. Shannon as State’s Attorney for the Judicial District of Litchfield.

Attorney Shannon was appointed to succeed Dawn Gallo, who has served as Litchfield State’s Attorney since 2019 and will be retiring effective April 1, 2022. State’s Attorney Shannon will complete the remainder of the eight-year term, which expires on June 30, 2025.

At the Commission’s meeting on March 21, 2022, the appointment of Attorney Shannon was approved by a 4-1 vote, with Commission member Attorney Robert M. Berke voting in the negative.

"I congratulate State’s Attorney Shannon on his appointment to this important position as an integral part of the senior management in the Division of Criminal Justice," Justice McDonald said. “The Commission wishes him the very best as the Division moves forward to address the critical issues facing the criminal justice system today.”

State’s Attorney Shannon will be the chief law enforcement officer in the Judicial District of Litchfield, overseeing criminal prosecutions in the city of Torrington and towns of Barkhamsted, Bethlehem,  Bridgewater, Canaan (Falls Village), Colebrook, Cornwall, Goshen, Hartland, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, New Hartford, New Milford, Norfolk, North Canaan, Roxbury, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston, Warren, Washington and Winchester (Winsted).

Attorney Shannon began his career at the Division of Criminal Justice in 1998 as a legal intern in the New Haven State’s Attorney’s Office. From May 1999 to January 2010, he worked as an Assistant State's Attorney in the Danbury Judicial District. Since January 2010, Attorney Shannon has served in the Judicial District of Litchfield where he was promoted to Supervisory Assistant State’s Attorney in December 2019.

Attorney Shannon earned his Bachelor of Arts Degree from Fordham University in New York, and his Juris Doctor Degree from the University of Connecticut School of Law.

On behalf of the Commission, Justice McDonald extended his congratulations and best wishes to longtime prosecutor Dawn Gallo.

“The Criminal Justice Commission wishes to express its sincere gratitude and appreciation to State’s Attorney Gallo for her exemplary service and leadership in the courtroom and as an administrator,” said Justice McDonald. “We all wish Attorney Gallo a very happy and healthy retirement, and well-deserved after so many years of service to the state of Connecticut.”

Established under Article XXIII of the Connecticut Constitution, the Criminal Justice Commission is responsible for the appointment of all state prosecutors in Connecticut. In addition to Justice McDonald, Associate Justice of the Connecticut Supreme Court, its membership includes Appellate Court Judge Melanie L. Cradle, attorneys Reginald Dwayne Betts, Robert M. Berke, Scott J. Murphy, Moy N. Ogilvie and the Chief State’s Attorney.