State's Attorneys' Advisory Board

Minutes of the Meeting of January 27, 2020
Office of the Chief State's Attorney
Rocky Hill, Connecticut

Stamford/Norwalk State's Attorney Richard J. Colangelo, Jr., Vice President of the Board, called the meeting to order at 12:47p.m.

Also in attendance were: Acting Chief State's Attorney John J. Russotto; Deputy Chief State’s Attorney Kevin D. Lawlor; State’s Attorneys  Dawn Gallo (Litchfield), Patrick J. Griffin (New Haven), Gail P. Hardy (Hartford), Margaret E. Kelley (Ansonia/Milford), Anne F. Mahoney (Windham), Maureen Platt (Waterbury), Brian Preleski (New Britain), John C. Smriga, (Fairfield), Supervisory Assistant State’s Attorney Paul Narducci (New London) and Senior Assistant State’s Attorney Russell Zentner (Middlesex).

Also present: Executive Assistant State’s Attorney Brian Austin, Jr., Executive Assistant State’s Attorney Amy L. Bepko, Communications and Legislative Specialist Mark A. Dupuis, Supervisory Assistant State’s Attorney C. Robert Satti, Jr. (Fairfield), and Executive Secretary Marisa DePhillips.

Deputy Chief State’s Attorney Lawlor moved to approve the minutes of the December 16, 2019, meeting. State’s Attorney Platt seconded the motion and it passed on a voice vote.

There was no old business.

New Business:

Acting Chief State’s Attorney Russotto presented State’s Attorney Smriga with the Homer S. Cummings Award for Prosecutorial Excellence. All in attendance congratulated State’s Attorney Smriga regarding his upcoming retirement and nearly four decades of outstanding service with the Division of Criminal Justice.

There was a general discussion regarding the organization and implementation of State’s Attorney’s Community Engagement Boards. State’s Attorney’s Colangelo, Griffin and Preleski discussed how the Community Engagement Boards in their respective jurisdictions operate.

There being no further business State’s Attorney Preleski moved to adjourn the meeting. State’s Attorney Colangelo seconded the motion and it passed on a voice vote. The meeting adjourned at 1:20 p.m.