Division of Criminal Justice Advisory Board 

Minutes of the Meeting of February 7, 2022

The meeting was called to order at 12:31 p.m. by State’s Attorney Patrick Griffin, President of the Board.
Also present were, Chief State’s Attorney Richard J. Colangelo, Jr.; Deputy Chief State’s Attorneys John J. Russotto and Robert Devlin; State’s Attorneys Margaret E. Kelley (Ansonia/Milford), Stephen J. Sedensky III (Danbury), Joseph T. Corradino (Fairfield), Sharmese Walcott (Hartford), Dawn Gallo (Litchfield), Michael A. Gailor (Middlesex), Brian Preleski (New Britain), Patrick J. Griffin (New Haven), Paul J. Ferencek (Stamford/Norwalk), Matthew C. Gedansky (Tolland), Maureen T. Platt (Waterbury) and Anne F. Mahoney (Windham). Also present: Executive Assistant State’s Attorneys John Doyle, and Gail P. Hardy, Director of Communications Alaine Griffin, Legislative Liaison Melanie Dykas, and Criminal Justice Commission Member Scott Murphy.

Elections for positions on the Advisory Board for the upcoming year were held with the following people being elected unanimously: Anne Mahoney, President; Michael Gailor, Vice President; and Margaret Kelly, Secretary.

The Management Committee reported that it is trying to develop more objective criteria for making staffing decisions. The Committee further reported that John Russotto, on behalf of the Committee, is undertaking a review of Division policies to determine whether any should be presented to the Committee for reconsideration. Given the strain on our offices and our employees due to the ongoing pandemic, the Committee also recommended having a representative of the Employee Assistance Program go to each office in the state to serve as a resource for the employees.

The Operations Committee indicated that peer reviews of two State’s Attorneys had been completed and that more would begin shortly. The Committee also reported that it is working on a policy for the use of body cameras by Inspectors within the Division.

There were no conflicts to discuss.

The meeting adjourned at 1:05 p.m.