Comprehensive K-12 School Counseling Framework


Numerous professionals contributed to the review and development of these guidelines.

A special thank-you to the core writing team for the school counseling guidelines:

Michelle Catucci, Executive Director of Connecticut School Counseling Association (CSCA); Virginia DeLong, Government Relations, CSCA; Dr. Nicole DeRonck, Associate Professor, WCSU, Co-Chair; Todd Dyer, CSCA Board Representative, CSCA, Principal Lead; Kimberly S. Traverso, CSDE, Chair.

The Department would also like to extend appreciation to the following individuals on the Connecticut Comprehensive School Counseling Framework Guide committee:

Kimberly Ambrose, MA, CSCA Secretary, School Counselor, Farmington Public Schools (currently Assistant Principal)

Patricia L. Anderson, Ph.D., Retired Consultant, Bureau of Special Education, CSDE

Kathleen Barrett, Ph.D., Professor, University of St. Joseph

Jay Brown, MA, Consultant, Bureau of Special Education, CSDE

Rebecca Carr, MA, Director of School Counseling North Haven Public Schools

Michelle Catucci, MA, Director of School Counseling, Cheshire Public Schools, CSCA Past President (Currently Executive Director of CSCA)

Liliana Cuevas, MA, School Counseling Coordinator, CREC Public Safety Academy

Ed D’Addio, MA, Middle School Department Head, West Hartford Public Schools

Virginia DeLong, MA, Middle School Counselor, Lebanon Public Schools/CSCA Past Board Chair (currently CSCA Government Relations Chair)

Sonia Dinnall, Ed.D., Executive Director of College and Career Readiness, Hartford Public Schools

Margaret P. Donohue, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Central CT State University

Chaka Felder-McEntire, Ed.D., Supervisor of School Counseling, New Haven Public Schools (currently at Windsor Public Schools)

Tor Fiske, MA, Supervisor of School Counseling (Currently Assistant Principal), West Hartford Public Schools

Sharon Fuller, MA, Consultant-Talent Division, CSDE

Lauren D. Johns, MA, Project Specialist, SERC

Sarah L. Jones, M.Ed., Consultant, SERC

Meg Lewis, MA, School Counselor, Colchester Public Schools

Suzanne Loud, MA, Consultant, Academic Office, CSDE

Bryan Klimkiewicz, Division Director, Special Education, CSDE

Donna Merritt, Ph.D., Consultant, SERC

Lorrie-Anne Monte, Ph.D., School Counselor/CSCA Past President (Currently WCSU Assistant Professor)

Vanessa Montorsi, MA, Director of School Counseling/Treasurer of CSCA, Cheshire Public Schools (currently at Fairfield Public Schools)

Paula Panos, MA, Director of School Counseling, Region 9 School District

Rose Paolino, Ed.D., Director of School Counseling, West Haven Public Schools

Jennifer Parzych, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Southern CT State University

Rachelle Perusse, Ph.D., Associate Professor, University of Connecticut

Ruth Simoncelli, MA, Department Head of School Counseling, Oliver Wolcott Technical School

Frank Staples, Ph.D., Department Head of School Counseling, East Hartford Public Schools

Robert E. Swan, Director of Pupil Services, East Haven Public Schools

Alycia M. Trakas, MA, Consultant, Bureau of Special Education, CSDE

Kimberly S. Traverso, MA, LPC, Project Manager, CSDE

Kim Wachtelhausen, MA, Consultant–Talent Division, CSDE