State’s Attorneys’ Advisory Board

Minutes of the Meeting of February 27, 2012

Office of the Chief State’s Attorney
Rocky Hill, Connecticut

In attendance were: Chief State’s Attorney Kevin Kane; Deputy Chief State’s Attorneys John Russotto and Leonard Boyle; State’s Attorneys Kevin Lawlor, Stephen Sedensky, John Smriga,

Gail Hardy, Peter McShane, Brian Preleski, Michael Dearington, Michael Regan, David Cohen, Matthew Gedansky, Maureen Platt, Patricia Froehlich; and Senior Assistant State’s Attorney Dawn Gallo for State’s Attorney David Shepack.

The meeting was called to order at 12:38 p.m.

Motion was made by State’s Attorney Cohen to accept the minutes of the previous meeting, seconded by State’s Attorney Sedensky. The minutes of the previous meeting were accepted unanimously.

State’s Attorney Froehlich updated the group on topics discussed at the last Director’s meeting of the National District Attorneys Association. State’s Attorney Froehlich informed the group that funding for the John R. Justice Loan Forgiveness Program continues to be a top priority for NDAA during the current congressional session. Other programs that NDAA continues to lobby Congress on behalf of state prosecutors include additional funding of the Byrne Grant program and Violence Against Women Act (VAWA). State’s Attorney Froehlich met with representatives of the Connecticut delegation including representatives of Senator Richard Blumenthal, Representative Rosa DeLauro and Representative John Larson who expressed support for these efforts.

State’s Attorney Froehlich also updated the group on the NDAA Annual Summer Conference to be held July 22-25, 2012, at the Mystic Marriott in Groton, CT. The Division of Criminal Justice will attempt to assist in suggesting training topics for the conference to NDAA. Deputy Chief State’s Attorney Russotto informed the group that training funds will be available to allow the State’s Attorneys and a limited number of Assistant State’s Attorneys to attend the Conference.

The meeting adjourned at 12:54 p.m.

The next meeting will be held on March 19, 2012.

Kevin Lawlor