Commission on the Standardization of the Collection of Evidence in Sexual Assault Investigations

Minutes - May 11, 2009

Statutory Members present were Chair Patricia Froehlich, Robert Allensworth, Michael Custer, Marielle Daniels, Candida Fusco, Paul Heon, Peter Jacoby, Nancy Kushins, and Michelle Noehren.

Non-Statutory Members present were Elizabeth Cafarella, Linda Cimino, Jennifer Milette, Elaine Pagliaro, and Judith Rossi.

Guests: Lucia Zuniga, R.N., S.A.N.E., and Joan Sham, R.N., M.S., of the Massachusetts SANE programs and Nina Livingston, M.D., Connecticut Children's Medical Center/Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center.

• Membership Update: Patricia Froehlich to write a letter requesting a new representative be appointed to fill the O.B.G.Y.N. position on the Commission.

• Joan Sham and Lucia Zuniga from the Massachusetts Pediatric SANE program presented on the creation of their pediatric evidence collection kit.

• The Commission discussed a to-do list for the revision of the Technical Guidelines.The Commission members will continue to work on revisions until the next meeting date.

• The next commission meeting will be on July 13, 2009, This meeting will be held from 3:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. at the Office of the Chief State’s Attorney, 300 Corporate Place, Rocky Hill, CT.