Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know (EPCRA)
Quick Links For Connecticut Facilities and Businesses
The EPCRA law and regulations applies to chemicals and products on site. This is a consolidated listing of EPCRA reporting requirements and information. Links identified within the page will bring you to more detailed information, forms and instructions.
There are five reporting requirements that may apply to a Connecticut facility or business:
The Consolidated List of Lists
for reporting thresholds will provide you with the necessary information to determine if there is a reportable quantity of any extremely hazardous substances (EHS) on site or a product that contains an EHS. If this is the case, the facility owner or operator should submit a Section 302-Emergency Planning Notification
within 60 days of the date it arrived on site.
If there are 10,000 pounds or more of a hazardous substance or a reportable quantity of an extremely hazardous substance on site at any one time, the facility owner or operator should submit a Hazardous Chemical Reporting
requirement within 90 days of the date it arrived on site.
If there are 10,000 pounds or more of a hazardous substance or a reportable quantity of an extremely hazardous substance on site at any one time, a facility owner or operator is required to submit a Tier Two, Emergency and Hazardous Chemical Inventory
each year. The inventory that is due by March 1st is for the previous calendar year (January 1 - December 31).
If there is a accidental release of a chemical, a federal reporting notification is required to be made immediately.
There is a Toxics Release Inventory that may need to be annually submitted to the state and the federal government.
- An index of information regarding planning and reporting under EPCRA Sections 302, 304, 311, 312 and 313.
- Links to laws, regulations, guidance and summary of data
- How to report spills to the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection and the Federal Government.
Content Last Updated April 2020