The State Emergency Response Commission (SERC) is comprised of eighteen members: the Commissioners of the Departments of Energy and Environmental Protection, Emergency Services and Public Protection,  Public Health, Transportation, and Labor; the Secretary of the Office of Policy and Management; the State Fire Marshal; the State Fire Administrator; the Adjutant General of the Military Department; (or their designees or a designee); and nine (9) members appointed by the Governor.

Chairperson:  Gerard P. Goudreau, SERC Chairperson

SERC Administration:
Diane Duva, Director, Emergency Response Planning Office/EPCRA & SERC Manager
Emergency Response and Spill Prevention Division, Materials Management and Compliance Assurance Bureau Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

Commission Members:
Member Designee
Katie Dykes
Department of Energy and Environmental Protection
Diane W. Duva, MEM
SERC Administrator
Director, Emergency Response Planning Office


James C. Rovella


Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection


William H. Turner III

State Emergency Management Director  

Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security

Manisha Juthani, M.D.


Department of Public Health

David Kallander, Ph.D.


Environmental and Occupational Health Assessment Program              


Department of Transportation

Jason M. Coite, P.E.
Principal Engineer
Environmental Compliance and Engineering Project Coordination
Bureau of Engineering and Construction
Department of Labor
Kenneth C. Tucker III
Office of Policy and Management
Matthew LaFayette
Budget Analyst
Budget and Financial Management Division

Major General Francis J. Evon Jr.

CT Adjutant General


Connecticut Military Department

Lieutenant Colonel Benjamin Neumon

Connecticut Military Department


Jeffrey J. Morrissette

State Fire Administrator

Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection


William Abbott

State Fire Marshal

Office of State Fire Marshal

Department of Administrative Services



The following list represents the nine (9) SERC members appointed by the Governor, four (4) represent the public; three (3) represent owners or operators of facilities; one (1) is the fire chief of a municipal fire department whose employees are compensated for their services; and one (1) is the fire chief of a volunteer fire department.  The members of the SERC are appointed by the Governor to the Commission and serve for two (2) years, or until a successor is appointed and has qualified, whichever is longer.

Appointees Represent
Gerard P. Goudreau - Serves as Chairperson
Robert J. Araujo
Lisa Morrissey, MPH Facility
Chief John C. Littell
Tolland Fire Department
Volunteer Fire Department
Chief Edward N. Richards
Enfield Fire Department 
Municipal Fire Department 
Robert Ross Public
Anthony Salvatore, Town Manager, Town of Cromwell  Public
Kyle Zimmer, Jr.   Public
Vacant Public
  • Terms of appointees are effective on a specific date and end on a specific date or until a successor is appointed and has qualified, whichever is longer.

Content Last Updated October 17, 2023