Composition of the Municipal Accountability Review Board Pursuant to Section 367 of Public Act 17-2

The Municipal Accountability Review Board (MARB), which is located in the Office of Policy and Management (OPM) for administrative purposes only, shall be comprised of the 11 members, appointed as follows:

Secretary of OPM, or designee, Chairperson
State Treasurer, or designee, Co-chairperson
Five members appointed by the Governor:
  • a municipal finance director
  • a municipal bond or bankruptcy attorney
  • a town manager
  • a member having significant experience representing organized labor from a list of three recommendations by AFSCME
  • a member having significant experience as a teacher or representing a teacher’s organization selected from a list of three joint recommendations by CEA and AFT-CT

One member appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, one member appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, one member appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate and one member appointed by the Minority Leader of the house of Representatives, each of whom shall have experience in business, finance or municipal management.


Ex-Officio and Appointed Members as of
April 1, 2019

Appointed By


Melissa McCaw, Chairperson


Secretary of the Office of Policy and Management

The Honorable Shawn Wooden, Co-Chairperson



State Treasurer

Thomas Hamilton


Chief Financial Officer, Norwalk Public Schools

Scott D. Jackson


State Commissioner of Labor, former Mayor and Chief Administrative Officer, Town of Hamden

Sal Luciano


Executive Director of Council 4 of the American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees, AFL-CIO

Mark D. Waxenberg


Former Executive Director Connecticut Education Association

Robert White


Bankruptcy attorney;  Attorney, Murtha Cullina, LLP; Distinguished Practitioner in Residence, Quinnipiac University School of Law

Patrick J. Egan

Senate President Pro Tempore

Former Assistant Chief / Executive Officer, New Haven Fire Department; Former President, New Haven Firefighters, IAFF Local 825

Matthew Brokman Speaker of the House Chief of Staff House Democrats


David Biller


Senate Minority Leader


Attorney; Insurance Adjuster

Stephen Falcigno

House Minority Leader
Former President and CEO of Statewide Meats; Member of Police Commission, Town of Woodbridge