June 24, 2022: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has listed Fairfield, Hartford, New London, Middlesex, Tolland, and Windham Counties in Low/Green the as part of its COVID-19 Community Levels Map. Only Litchfield, Middlesex and New Haven County are listed in the Medium/Yellow category. Residents who live in the Medium /Yellow counties who are at a high risk for severe illness, should talk to their health care provider about whether to wear a mask and take other precautions. These residents should stay up to date with their COVID-19 vaccines and get tested if they have symptoms. Visit the CDC COVID-19 Community Levels Map for updates.


The Infectious Disease section collects data to assess chronic and infectious disease and associated risk factors; identifies and responds to emerging infections, and conducts outbreak investigations and surveillance. The section is comprised of the following units and programs:


  • Epidemiology
    • Emerging Infections
    • Foodborne Disease
    • Public Health Preparedness
    • Vector borne and Zoonotic Diseases
  • Healthcare Associated Infections
  • Immunizations
    • Registry & Program Support
  • HIV/AIDS Prevention
  • AIDS Health Care and Support Services
  • HIV Surveillance
  • Viral Hepatitis Surveillance
  • Sexually Transmitted Diseases
  • Tuberculosis Control and Prevention