Entomology

The Department of Entomology conducts research on arthropod pests of food crops, ornamental and fruit trees, shrubs, turf, forests, and pathogen vectors (ticks and mosquitoes) of medical and veterinary importance. Inspections are conducted on nursery plants and honey bees. Department staff diagnose insect problems for the general public, growers, pest control operators, municipalities, and health officials. The department runs the Active and Passive Tick and Tick-borne Pathogen Surveillance, as well as the Mosquito and Arbovirus Surveillance Programs. These surveillance programs provide information on the abundance, distribution, and infection rates of tick and mosquito vectors to assess the risk of human infection, and track the range expansion of exotic and invasive tick and mosquito species and their associated pathogens in the state. Scientists in the Department of Entomology are working to meet the challenges of controlling arthropod pests and vectors through integrated pest and vector management practices to target pest and vector control interventions more effectively and reduce pesticide use in Connecticut. 

 

Click this link to learn about: The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station Arthropod Collection


The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station

Department of Entomology

Jenkins-Waggoner Laboratory

123 Huntington Street

New Haven, CT 06511

Fax: (203) 974-8502


Molaei, Goudarz: Chief Scientist, Department Head

E-mail:  Goudarz.Molaei@ct.gov
Voice:  (203) 974-8487

 

Smith, Victoria L.: Agricultural Scientist, State Entomologist

E-mail: Victoria.Smith@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8474

 

Armstrong, Philip M.:  Agricultural Scientist
E-mail: Philip.Armstrong@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8510

 

Blevins, Tia M.: Agricultural Research Technician II
E-mail: Tia.Blevins@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8468

 

Brackney, Douglas E.: Associate Agricultural Scientist
E-mail: Doug.Brackney@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8475

 

Bransfield, Angela B.: Agricultural Technician II
E-mail: Angela.Bransfield@ct.gov
Office: (203) 974-8575
Laboratory: (203) 974-8472

 

Cantoni, Jamie L.: Agricultural Research Assistant III
E-mail: Jamie.Cantoni@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8533

 

Cozens, Duncan W.: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Duncan.Cozens@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8617

 

Crandall, Dana E.: Agricultural Research Technician I, State Survey Coordinator

E-mail: Dana.Crandall@ct.gov

Voice: 203-974-8481

 

Creighton, Mark H.: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Mark.Creighton@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8467

 

Dugas, Katherine D.: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Katherine.Dugas@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8506

 

Fengler, Jeffrey M.: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Jeffrey.Fengler@ct.gov
Voice: (860) 285-7418

 

Ferdous, Zannatul: Post-Doctoral Scientist 

E-mail: Zannatul.Ferdous@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8535

 

Gloria-Soria, Andrea: Assistant Agricultural Scientist I
E-mail: Andrea.Gloria-Soria@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8471

 

Johnson, Rebecca: Post-Doctoral Scientist
E-mail: Rebecca.Johnson@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8535

 

Khalil, Noelle: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Noelle.Khalil@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8520

 

Linske, Megan A.: Agricultural Post Doctoral Research Scientist
E-mail: Megan.Linske@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8490

 

Magana, Gerda: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Gerda.Magana@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8483

 

Misencik, Michael J.: Agricultural Research Technician II
E-mail: Michael.Misencik@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8614

 

Petruff, Tanya A.: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Tanya.Petruff@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8517

 

Ridge, Gale E.: Associate Agricultural Scientist
E-mail: Gale.Ridge@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8478
Insect Inquiry Office: (203) 974-8600

 

Rutledge, Claire E.: Associate Agricultural Scientist

E-mail: Claire.Rutledge@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8484

 

Shepard, John J.: Assistant Agricultural Scientist I
E-mail: John.Shepard@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8543

 

Stuber, Heidi R., Agricultural Research Technician II

E-mail: Heidi.Stuber@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 287-1259

Main Laboratories: (203) 974-8319

Lockwood Farm: (203) 287-1259 

 

Zarrillo, Tracy A.: Assistant Agricultural Scientist I

E-mail: Tracy.Zarrillo@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8473

 

Emeritus:

Anderson, John F.
E-mail:  John.F.Anderson@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8564

 

Andreadis, Theodore

 

Maier, Chris T.

E-mail: Chris.Maier@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8476

 

Stafford, III., Kirby C.
E-mail: Kirby.Stafford@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8485

 

Stoner, Kimberly A.

E-mail: Kimberly.Stoner@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8480