History of the CT State Wildlife Action Plan

In the Forsythe-Chaffee Nongame Act of 1980, Congress recognized the need for new sources of federal funding for state wildlife conservation programs to complement funding provided through the Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Act of 1937 (popularly known as the Pittman–Robertson Act), and the Sport Fish Restoration Act of 1950 (commonly referred to as the Dingell-Johnson Act). Key elements in the success of the these Programs have been long-term stability, equitable and reasonably predictable annual allocations, and safeguards against diversion of such funds away from the purposes established by Congress.

After the passage of the Forsythe-Chaffee Nongame Act, a coalition comprised of all 50 states, their governmental and nongovernmental partners in conservation, and the corporate sector formed to develop strong Congressional support to fund the conservation of nongame species. Since 2001, this effort has resulted in annual appropriations to states under the Wildlife Conservation and Restoration Program (WCRP) and State Wildlife Grant Program (SWG).

Under the federal State Wildlife Grant Program, Congress has provided a historic opportunity to state fish and wildlife agencies and their partners to design and implement a comprehensive vision for the conservation of America's wildlife. To qualify for the State Wildlife Grant program, each State, Territory, and the District of Columbia was required to complete a State Wildlife Action Plan by October 1, 2005. In 2005, Connecticut completed its Comprehensive Wildlife Conservation Strategy, now known as the Connecticut State Wildlife Action Plan (SWAP), creating a blueprint for the conservation of wildlife from 2005-2015 Connecticut, along with other states across the country, revised and updated the Wildlife Action Plan in 2015 to establish both a state and national framework for proactively conserving our fish and wildlife, including their habitats, covering the years of 2015-2025.

Content last updated on November 6, 2023.