Frequently Asked Questions-COVID-19
Safe Boating Classes Available Online!
Boating safety courses leading to certification are available and will be presented in an interactive videoconferencing platform. These classes will be taught by DEEP Instructors, Private Boating Class Providers, the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, and U.S. Power Squadrons.
Important Vessel Registration Information
Existing Registrations: DMV has provided a 90-day extension for Connecticut-issued registrations set to expire on April 30, 2020
New Registrations: New registrations are being processed using a drop-off system at select DMV offices.
For more information, visit: www.ctdmv.info
I purchased a vessel in another state. Are there any restrictions on delivery of the vessel by trailer?
There are no restrictions in place that affect vessels being transported by trailer as long as the trailer is properly registered.
How can I register my vessel in CT?CT DMV website (www.ctdmv.info ) has information on how to register your vessel. They are offering a registration application drop-off service in three locations since the offices are closed to the public.
I purchased a vessel in another state. Are there any restrictions placed on my vessel before it can be launched in CT waters?
The vessel must be registered in your name and per current guidance from Governor Lamont, any person coming into Connecticut by any mode of transportation for any reason is strongly urged to self-quarantine for 14 days. There are no quarantine restrictions on vessels themselves coming to CT from out-of-state.
Are there on-line boating safety courses available leading to certifcation?
Yes, on-line boating safety courses are available and will be presented in an interactive videoconferencing platform. These classes will be taught by DEEP Instructors, Private Boating Class Providers, the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, and U.S. Power Squadrons.
Does DEEP offer equivalency examinations by appointment?
Yes. Examinations are offered only by the DEEP. Please complete the equivalency exam application to register for the examination. The exam will be conducted on an interactive videoconferencing platform.
Application & Fee Due Date:
|June 5, 2020||June 3, 2020|
|June 19, 2020||June 17, 2020|
|July 3, 2020||July 1, 2020|
|July 17, 2020||July 15, 2020|
|July 31, 2020||July 29, 2020|
|August 14, 2020||August 12, 2020|
|August 28, 2020||August 26, 2020|
The examination fee is $75.00.
Are CT marinas currently accepting transient boaters from other states or providing services for them?
This would be up to the individual marina to determine. Boaters should contact Connecticut Marine Trades Association or the marinas directly.
Check CT's Boating Infrastructure Grant Funded Amenities Map to find a transient slip that was funded by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.
Are CT pumpout facilities and fuel docks open?Yes they are! The use of pumpout facilities and fuel docks is not prohibited. The use of social distancing and proper personal protective equipment by anyone using these facilities is strongly encouraged. Check CT's Clean Vessel Act- Pump-out Directory to find pump-out locations, contact information and hours of operation.
Some docks have been installed at state boat launches . Some of these facilities are delayed indefinitely due to the pandemic. As they are installed, DEEP will announce on our social media platforms and on our website.
When will the docks be installed at state boat launches?
I have a 43 ft motoryacht with plenty of space to social distance? How many people can I have?
- Per Governor Lamont, all social and recreational gatherings of more than 5 people are prohibited. Check with your marina regarding their safety guidelines.
- Please adhere to these safety guidance during the COVID-19 Pandemic:
-Maintain 6-foot social distancing. When this cannot be achieved, wear a face covering.
-Use only your own vessel and equipment.
-Boat occupants should be household members only.
-Avoid other boaters on the water – no rafting.
Can I use my personal watercraft (PWC) i.e. jet ski, wave runner, Sea-Doo?
Yes, as long as the PWC is registered and you are 16 years of age and older and have a Certificate of Personal Watercraft Operation or equivalent from at reciprocal state (RI, MA, NY & NH)
Can I use the boats at a Rowing Club?
At this time, only one person per boat is allowed and a thorough cleaning after every use is required.
I am a member of a boating club (e.g. Freedom Boat Club, Carefree Boat Club). Can I use the boats from this club?
Boat clubs are allowed at this time. All other guidance must be followed including no more than 5 people on a vessel at a time and must be immediate household family members only. A thorough cleaning after every use is required.