Prescription Monitoring Program
Under Connecticut law, information about all transactions for controlled substances (Schedule II-V) dispensed in Connecticut must be reported to the CPMRS. Pharmacies - both in and out of state - and dispensing practitioners must submit data daily.
For more information regarding our prescriber and pharmacist educational campaign, please visit our CHANGE the SCRxIPT webpage.
New: Public Act 16-43 (Effective 7/1/2016) - these new requirements will affect prescribers and veterinary facilities that dispense controlled substances. Additionally, please note the new requirement in regards to Schedule V controlled substances.
- Practitioner's authorized agent, licensed or unlicensed, may register for their own CPMRS user account.
- Veterinary facilities are not subjected to daily reporting and will continue to submit dispensation reports weekly.
- Whenever a prescribing practitioner prescribes greater than a 72-hour supply of any Schedule V controlled substance for the treatment of any patient, such prescriber, or such prescriber's authorized agent, shall review, not less than annually, the patient's records in the CPMRS.
- On and after July 1, 2016, each pharmacy, nonresident pharmacy, outpatient pharmacy in a hospital or institution, and dispenser shall report all controlled substance prescriptions dispensed immediately upon, but in no event later than the next business day, dispensing such prescriptions into the CPMRS Data Collection website at https://pmpclearinghouse.net.
Public Act 15-198 (Effective 10/01/2015) and June Special Session Public Act 15-5, Sec. 354 (Effective 10/01/2015) - these new requirements will affect both prescribers and pharmacies.
- Prior to prescribing greater than a 72-hour supply of any controlled substance (Schedule II - V) to any patient, the prescribing practitioner or such practitioner's authorized agent shall review the patient's records in the CPMRS at https://connecticut.pmpaware.net.
Whenever a prescribing practitioner prescribes controlled substances for the continuous or prolonged treatment of any patient, such prescriber, or such prescriber's authorized agent shall review not less than once every 90 days, the patient's records in the CPMRS.
- If the CPMRS is not operational, prescriber may prescribe greater than a 72-hour supply of a controlled substance to a patient during the time that the system is down as long as the prescriber or prescriber’s authorized agent reviews the records of the patient in the CPMRS not more than twenty-four hours after regaining access to the system.
Daily reporting mandate (see Public Act 16-43)
- All prescribers in possession of a Connecticut Controlled Substance (CSP) Registration issued by the State of Connecticut, Department of Consumer Protection, will be required to register as a user with the Connecticut Prescription Monitoring and Reporting System (CPMRS) at https://connecticut.pmpaware.net.
Any prescribers who dispense controlled substances from their practice or facility, etc., will be required to upload dispensing information into the CPMRS Data Collection website at https://pmpclearinghouse.net.
- Notification Letter to Practitioners January 2014
Disclaimer: The CPMRS receives data daily from dispensing pharmacies and practitioners and at least once per week from veterinary facilities. Therefore, the data within the database may not be accurate or complete. For more information about any prescription, please contact the dispensing pharmacy and/or the prescriber.
- Prescription Drop Box Application and Sample Brochures
- Brochure: Medication Drop-Box Program
- Towns with Prescription Drop Boxes