Continuing Education for Occupational and Professional Licenses

ARCHITECTS 1. Upon renewal of your license in 2022 (license period 8/1/2022 through 7/31/2023) you will be required to attest that you earned the minimum twelve (12) continuing education hours (C.E.H.s) to renew your license.

2. Continuing Education (CE):

  1. The law recently changed the reporting date for continuing education hours from December 31, 2021, to April 30, 2022. In effect, the first reporting period of CE hours is January 1, 2021, through April 30, 2022.
  2. Going forward, while the architect license period continues to be from August 1st to July 31st the following year, the continuing education period will be from May 1st through April 30th the following year and continue as such. The CE period begins 3 months prior to the license expiration date and concludes 3 months before the following license period expires.
  3. You will attest to completion of your CE requirement as part of your online renewal. You do not have to submit your CE certificates. Retain all CE certificates in the event you are selected for audit by this Department.

3. C.E.H. must be certified by the American Institute of Architects, N.C.A.R.B., or the Connecticut Office of Data and Education Management.  NCARB WEBSITE  OFFICE OF EDUCATION AND DATA MANAGEMENT (OEDM)

4. The C.E.H.s must be in the category of Health, Safety and Welfare Subjects, as described in the regulations.  REGULATION – ARCHITECT LICENSING

EXEMPTIONS:

1. For reason of health, military service, or other individual hardship, the Board may, in its discretion, excuse an architect from C.E requirements if the architect otherwise meets all other renewal requirements.

 

2. An Architect who has been granted emeritus status by the Board or Department shall not be subject to C.E. requirements.
 

3. An Architect shall not be required to complete C.E. requirements for their first renewal of their Connecticut Architect license.


>> Go to Pre-Licensing Education <<

 

ELECTRICAL LICENSES

Section 20-334d of the Connecticut General Statutes requires all types of Electrical license holders to obtain continuing education hours of instruction to renew their respective licenses.  The deadline to complete continuing education is June 30th.  Your license expiration date remains September 30th of each year.

Please note, a licensee shall not be required to comply with the continuing education requirements of this section for their first license renewal.

If appropriate, you may request a hardship waiver of the continuing education requirement for the current cycle.

For Providers:

                          2022 Power Point Presentation - Safety - PART B

                          2022 Power Point Presentation - NEC Calculations - PART C

                          2022 Power Point Presentation - Safety - PART B

For Licensees:

 HOME INSPECTOR


The Home Inspector shall take courses consisting of at least twenty continuing education hours in each two-year continuing education period concurrent with the license renewal period.  For each two-year continuing education period, the following course shall be mandated: One course consisting of at least three classroom hours in current home inspection legislation, licensing laws and regulations.

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS

1. Each landscape architect shall meet the continuing education requirements set forth in Sec. 20-368-15a. Continuing Education of the Regulation for Landscape Architects.

2. The law recently changed the reporting date for continuing education hours from July 31, 2022 to April 30, 2022.  In effect, the current reporting period of continuing education hours for Landscape Architects is August 1, 2020 through April 30, 2022.  Going forward, while the Landscape Architect license period continues to be from August 1st to July 31st of the next year, the continuing education period will be from May 1st of the current even-numbered year through April 30th of the next even-numbered year and continue as such.

3. The Board of Landscape Architects has temporarily waived the 6-hour live requirement for Continuing Education (CE) in recognition of the National Pandemic.  However, these six hours are still required but do not have to be earned live.

4. You will attest to completion of your CE requirement as part of your online renewal. You do not have to submit your CE certificates. Retain all CE certificates in the event you are selected for audit by this Department.

5. A Landscape Architect shall not be required to meet the CE requirement for the first biennium in which the Landscape Architect is initially licensed in this State.

6. A Landscape Architect who is unable to comply with the CE requirements due to extenuating circumstances may apply for a waiver or an extension of time to fulfill such requirements.

Refer to Sec. 20-368-15a. Continuing Education of the Regulation for Landscape Architects.

Landscape Architects shall maintain records of their Continuing Education contact hours for 7 years. The Department of Consumer Protection will perform random audits requiring licensed landscape architects to submit proof of their completion of the Continuing Education.

 

REGISTERED INTERIOR DESIGNER

 

Registered Interior Designers shall complete a minimum of four hours of continuing education every three years.  Such three-year period shall commence on the first date of renewal of the applicant's certificate of registration on or after October 1, 2015. The continuing education shall be in areas related to the application of the State Building Code and the Fire Safety Code.

 

Current CE cycle: January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2021

 

Next CE cycle: January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2024

 

 

PLUMBING - UNLIMITED LICENSE TYPES

 

Important:  Section 20-334d of the Connecticut General Statutes requires plumbing license holders, with the exception of P-6 and P-7 license types, to obtain continuing education hours of instruction to renew their respective licenses. Please use the lists of approved continuing education providers  and reserve your classroom location as soon as possible.

 

If appropriate, you may request a hardship waiver of the continuing education requirement for the current cycle.

 

For P-8, P-9, PP-1 and PP-2 license types:

No continuing education is available at this time therefore these license holders are not obligated to obtain continuing education credits.

 

UNLIMITED PLUMBING CONTRACTORS (P-1)

 

Proof of continuing education required at time of renewal in the even-numbered years

 

UNLIMITED PLUMBING JOURNEYPERSON (P-2)

 

Proof of continuing education required at the time of renewal in the odd-numbered years

 

FOR LICENSEES:

 


FOR PROVIDERS:

  • Continuing education provider package for Unlimited License Types for the 2020-2021 cycle
  • PLUMBING - LIMITED LICENSE TYPES

    LIMITED PLUMBING CONTRACTORS (J-1, J-3)

    Proof of continuing education required at the time of renewal in the even-numbered years

    LIMITED PLUMBING JOURNEYPERSONS (J-2, J-4)

    Proof of continuing education required at the time of renewal in the odd-numbered years

    If appropriate, you may request a hardship waiver of the continuing education requirement for the current cycle.

    FOR LICENSEES:

    FOR PROVIDERS:

    Specific content area as available for limited license types holders.  For example, the irrigation industry would offer courses related to lawn irrigation, while the well pump and water conditioning providers would offer courses specific to that occupational area, all while referring to the Codes, Standards and practices appropriate and that affect the limited license holders.

     

     

    SWIMMING POOL BUILDERS (SPB)

     

    Due to legislative changes, you must now complete your continuing education requirements three months prior to your license expiration date. Your license expiration date remains April 30th of each year.

    Your new deadline to complete continuing education requirements is January 30th of each year.

    Proof of continuing education required annually consisting of not less than three (3) hours of technical instruction and one (1) hour of business and law.

    Note: SPB license holders must also take an additional distinct class if they hold SP-1 or SP-2 maintenance and repair license.

       

    SWIMMING POOL AND SPA MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR (SP-1, SP-2)

    SP-1 - Proof of continuing education required biennially, consisting of not less than three (3) hours, at the time of renewal for even years.

    SP-2 - Proof of continuing education required biennially, consisting of not less than three (3) hours, at the time of renewal for odd years.

    Note: SP-1 and SP-2 license holders must take an additional distinct class if they hold an SPB license

       

     Information for SPB, SP1, SP2 Providers:

    • Providers of continuing education instruction shall obtain curriculum approval from the Department prior to offering each continuing education course for credit.
    • The list of continuing education providers above has been approved by the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection to offer SPA and POOL courses. It is the responsibility of the institution to inform students as to which specific course(s) have been approved for continuing education credit for licensure renewal by the Department of Consumer Protection.
    • If your school or institution is on this listing but is no longer participating in this program, please notify us immediately by contacting the Department of Consumer Protection, Attention: Occupational Unit, 450 Columbus Blvd., Suite 901, Hartford, CT 06103 or email dcp.occupationalprofessional@ct.gov .