Home Improvement Contractor
Under the Connecticut Home Improvement Act, an individual and/or business is required to register with the Department of Consumer Protection if they are contracting with a consumer to perform work on residential property.
Home Improvement includes:
Any permanent change to residential property, including but not limited to driveways, swimming pools, porches, garages, roofs, siding, insulation, flooring, patios, landscaping, painting, fences, doors and windows, waterproofing, and alarm systems not requiring electrical work.
Home improvement does not include:
- Work done by the homeowner on their own property
- Sub-contracted work
- Work that is covered under the scope of a trade license
- Work done on commercial property
- Work where the contract is less that $200
- Property maintenance such as snowplowing, mowing, pruning, or cleaning services
- Tree and shrub cutting and grinding
- Building new homes or a portion of new homes (see New Home Construction Contractor)
New Law (Public Act 21-197) Effective July 1, 2022:
- All applicants must obtain general liability insurance of no less than $20,000 to be eligible for a home improvement contractor registration. Applicants will be required to provide the name of their insurance provider and policy number in their application.
- All applications must be submitted online.
- You must determine whether you want to register as an individual (sole proprietorship) or a legal entity (LLC, corporation) prior to applying.
- If you contract with consumers as an LLC, then you should register as an LLC. Holding a home improvement contractor registration as an individual does not cover the LLC.
- Legal entities (both in-state and out-of-state) must register their business with the CT Secretary of State’s Office prior to applying.
- If you will be building new homes, you should apply for a New Home Construction Contractor registration first. You can designate home improvement work as part of that registration process. (see New Home Construction Contractor)
Non-refundable application fee: $220.00
Change, Addition, or Removal of Owner for Legal Entity:
Individual-Sole Proprietor to Legal Entity:
The expiration date for home improvement contractor registrations has changed from November 30th to March 31st. Please be advised that the department has started to transition the expiration date for all applications. (Public Act 21-137)
- Law and Regulation
- Home Improvement & New Home Construction in Connecticut (Manual for Contractors)
- Requirements for Radon Mitigation
- Requirements for Removal of Underground Oil Storage Tank
- Information for Home Improvement Contractors
Criminal Conviction Application Worksheet: If applicable, complete and attach the Criminal Conviction Application Worksheet (CHRO) to your application or renewal notice.