New Home Construction Contractor Applications

Get Acrobat Reader.gif (712 bytes) Any person or business that builds a new home needs a registration, inclusive of speculative housing. “New Home Construction Contractor” means any person who contracts with a consumer to construct or sell a new home or any portion of a new home prior to occupancy.

New Home Construction includes:

  • Contracting to build a new home defined as a new, single-family dwelling, a new two-family unit, or a new condominium unit.
  • Building a modular home and delivering and securing to the property

New Home Construction does not include:

  • Consumers building their own home
  • Realtors engaged in work under Chapter 392 of the Connecticut General Statutes
  • Mobile Home dealers and/or licensees covered under Chapter 412 of the Connecticut General Statutes
  • Contracted work by someone holding a professional or occupational license, registration, or certificate as long as the work being performed is covered by that credential
  • Contractors who engage in one or more contracts related to the same new home with a combined value of less than $3,500
  • Work done on a home after issuance of the Certificate of Occupancy

New Law (Public Act 21-197) Effective July 1, 2022:

  • All applicants must obtain general liability insurance of no less than $20,000 to be eligible for a registration.  Applicants will be required to provide the name of their insurance provider and policy number in their application.
  • New non-refundable registration fee: $360.00 ($240.00 registration fee & $120.00 guaranty fund fee)
    • Additional $100.00 guaranty fund fee for applicants wishing to also provide home improvement services.
      • Applicants will have the home improvement designated on their registration certificate and on the eLicense online lookup.
  • All applications must be submitted online. 
  • Registrations will expire annually on March 31st.
New Application:
  • You must determine whether you want to register as an individual (sole proprietorship) or a legal entity (LLC, corporation) prior to applying.
  • If you contract with consumers as an LLC, then you should register as an LLC. Holding a new home construction contractor registration as an individual does not cover the LLC.
  • Legal entities (both in-state and out-of-state) must register their business with the CT Secretary of State’s Office prior to applying.
  • If you will be offering home improvement services in addition to building new homes, you can apply for the home improvement designation as part of your new home application.
  • Online Initial Application Instructions

  apply online button For an Individual or Legal Entity

Renewal Information:

Important New Law Notification:   

Pursuant to Public Act 21-197 Effective July 1, 2022:

  • All applicants must obtain general liability insurance of not less than $20,000.  Applicants will be required to provide the name of their insurance provider and policy number in their online renewal.
  • All renewals must be submitted and paid online.   
  • The department can no longer accept paper renewal notices and checks that are received through the mail or placed in the drop box.

All renewal notices are sent approximately 30 days prior to the expiration date of the registration. If you did not receive a notice with your User ID and/or the Fast Track Renewal PIN, send an email to and include the following:

  1. Name
  2. Registration type
  3. Registration number
  4. Email address
  5. Indicate which login you are requesting: 
    - User ID and Password for full access to your account and renewal  
    - Fast Track Renewal PIN for access to renew only
Illustrated online renewal instructions are available by clicking the links below:


Adding Home Improvement Services Authorization to Your Registration:

  • Authorization to contract for home improvement services can be added to your active new home registration is currently active and the home improvement services will be provided by the same entity that holds the new home registration.
  • Cost to add home improvement is $100.00
  • To submit the request, log into your online account at  with your User ID and Password.  If you do not know your login credentials, you can request them by sending an email to
  • Once logged in, go to Online Services and then License Maintenance.  Select the “Start” button next to your New Home Construction registration, then select “Change Home Improvement Offering Status" from the dropdown to submit and make the payment.
  • Upon approval, a new registration will be issued with the home improvement designation.  In addition, the designation will appear on our license verification website and you will be added to the roster of active home improvement contractors.

Change, Addition, or Removal of Owner for Legal Entity: 

Individual-Sole Proprietor to Legal Entity:

Additional Information: