Reading Leadership Implementation Council


Council members are appointed as outlined in statute.

  • Dr. Maureen Brummett, Superintendent, Newington Public Schools 
  • Dr. Michael Coyne, Professor, Neag School of Education the University of Connecticut 
  • Dr. Margie Gillis, Founder and President, Literacy How, Inc. 
  • Kim Healy, Selectwoman, Wilton, CT 
  • Dr. Melissa Jenkins, Chief Academic Officer, Bridgeport Public Schools 
  • Dr. Stephanie Lockhart, Principal, Avon High School
  • Dr. Tamu Lucero, Superintendent, Stamford Public Schools
  • Thomas Nuccio, Children’s Policy Analyst, Women, Children, Seniors, Equity & Opportunity
  • Frances Rabinowitz, Executive Director, Connecticut Association of Public School Superintendents (CAPSS)
  • Bianca Rivera, HILL for Literacy Facilitator, Former Bridgeport and Fairfield Teacher
  • Lisa Thomas, Retired Educator; Chairwoman, Coventry Town Council
  • Susanne Witkowski, Thompson Selectman, Thompson
  • Dr. Melissa K. Wlodarczyk Hickey, Connecticut State Department of Education

Council staff

  • Irene E. Parisi, Connecticut State Department of Education
  • Katyria Rivera, Connecticut State Department of Education