The Executive Order of Governor Ned Lamont authorizing the use of remote notarization during the COVID pandemic expired on July 1, 2021.
On June 12, 2023, the Governor signed Public Act 23-28, An Act Concerning Remote Notarial Acts. This Act goes into effect October 1, 2023 and allows a form of remote notarization in Connecticut.
The Notary Public Manual has been updated with information on the implementation of Public Act 23-28.
Remote notarization is not authorized in Connecticut until this law goes into effect on October 1, 2023.
Attention Active Connecticut State Employees: Active state employees, including state police, may use the online notary application process to apply for a notary license for use in their official duties. Follow the directions below and use eLicense.ct.gov to apply online. Question 18 will ask you to attest that you are an active state employee. If you choose "yes" the application fee will be waived. Notaries choosing this exemption are subject to audit to verify that they are an active state employee.
The Office of the Secretary of the State, Business Services Division, licenses all notaries public in the state. The fee for a new notary commission is $120 and the fee to renew a notary commission is $60. Notary commissions are valid for five years. This page provides information on the following topics:
- Notary Public Application Process
- Notary Commission Renewals
- Name Changes
- Address Changes
- Basic Information for Notaries Public
If you are applying for a notary public commission for the first time, please complete the following steps to complete your application online.
Note: If you have previously been a notary in the state, but your commission has lapsed, you need to email our office and request a reinstatement -- you cannot use the new application process. To find your previous notary commission, use License Lookup (maintained by the State of Connecticut).
New Applicant Steps
1. Review the Notary Public Manual
- The application contains an examination that tests your understanding of the material contained in the manual. You must answer each question correctly before you will be provided a notary commission.
2. Complete a Jurat and Writing Sample
- The Jurat and Writing Sample is required for all new notary applications and reinstatements. You must upload a completed Jurat and Writing Sample during the online application process. The Writing Sample must be completed in the handwriting of the notary public. The Jurat must be subscribed and sworn to before a person authorized to administer an oath.
Note: An incorrect / incomplete Jurat and Writing Sample is the most common reason for application delays. Please complete carefully and make sure it is notarized.
3. Have someone else complete a Certificate of Character
- The Certificate of Character must be filled out completely and signed by a public official or a reputable business or professional person who must be unrelated to you and have personally known you for at least one year.
4. Be prepared to pay the statutory non-refundable application fee of $120
- You may pay by credit/debit card with a Visa, Mastercard, American Express or Discover Card logo or you may pay using your checking account (ACH).
5. Go to the eLicense.ct.gov website
- eLicense.ct.gov contains instructions on how to register for an account
6. Once logged in, select "Online Services" (top right); "Initial Application" and "Notary Public Certification"
- Follow the onscreen prompts to complete your application. You will receive an email that your application has been received. You will also receive an email with your new notary certificate once your application has been approved (typically 3-5 business days).
Notary commissions may be renewed online quickly and easily. Approximately 90 days before your commission expires, you will receive a letter from our office, either by mail or email, letting you know your commission is expiring. It will provide you with a PIN to use through fast-track renewal. If you did not receive this letter or need another one, email us at email@example.com. Provide us with an email address and request another renewal notification.
Please ensure you tell us your name as it is on your notary certificate, and your license number (if possible). You can use License Lookup (maintained by the State of Connecticut) to find this information.
Note: A notary commission may only be renewed during the 90-day period before expiration and 90 days after expiration. If your commission has been expired for more than 90 days, you will need to request a reinstatement by emailing us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
If your name has changed, you must complete the Change of Name form and email it to us at email@example.com. We will email you an invoice to pay the $15 statutory fee for a name change. Once the fee is received, you will receive a certificate by email with your new name.
Qualifications, Fee & Examination
Any person eighteen years of age or older who either resides in or has a principal place of business in Connecticut may apply for appointment as a Notary Public.
All applicants must submit a completed application form (online in the eLicense.ct.gov system -- see above) and pay the application fee of $120.00. An examination is contained in the application process and the applicant completes the examination under oath. Successful applicants will receive a certificate of appointment.
Term of Appointment
Notaries in the State of Connecticut are appointed for terms of five (5) years.
Oath of Office & Recording the Certificate and Oath
All notaries, whether new or renewal appointments, must take an oath of office before they can perform any notarial acts. The notary's certificate of appointment contains a panel for recording the administration of the oath. The oath may be administered by any official having the authority to administer oaths, but notary's may find it convenient to take the oath of office from the town clerk at the same time they record their certificate, as town clerks are authorized to administer oaths.
If the notary is a resident of Connecticut, the oath and notary certificate must be recorded with the town clerk in the town in which the notary resides. Non-residents must record with the town clerk of the town where their principal place of business is in Connecticut. It is very important for all notaries to remember these requirements, which must be completed within 30 days of receiving the Certificate of Appointment.
Renewal of Appointment
Notary terms of appointment expire on the last day of the month in which the notary was originally appointed. Renewal applications are emailed (or mailed if we do not have an email address) three months in advance of the expiration date to the address recorded with the Secretary. For this reason, it is critical that you keep your email address on file with our office updated.
A notary may resign his or her commission at any time, by advising the Office of the Secretary of the State, in writing, of his or her intention to resign and the effective date of that resignation.