International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) Information

Who Must Complete a Registration Application and File an IFTA Return

Any motor carrier who operates an IFTA-qualified motor vehicle in commerce must participate in IFTA and register for an IFTA license.

To register for the first time as an International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) licensee in Connecticut, you must register with the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) as a Connecticut business and complete the IFTA/Motor Carrier registration through myconneCT.

Please be advised when registering:

  • You must provide your USDOT number at the time of registration.
  • To obtain a USDOT number visit: FMCSA
    • Note: The Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) provided to FMCSA must be the same as what you obtained from the IRS.
  • To obtain an Employer Identification Number visit: IRS.Gov

Once you have provided all required registration information, the final step in the myconneCT registration process is to create a myconneCT username and password for online access to your account. You can then log in to your myconneCT account to obtain your CT Registration Number. Once you register, DRS will process your application and mail your license and decal(s) to you along with your unique IFTA Account Number. You will then be able to file returns, make payments, order additional decals, and renew licenses using myconneCT.

CT Waiver of Licensing Registration Requirement with Regards to Importation/Distribution of Fuel - COVID-19 

When to File

Businesses must file the IFTA return on the last day of the month immediately following the close of the quarter for which the return is due.

Where to File

Businesses that are required to file an International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) license must file online through myconneCT.

Use myconneCT to file taxes, make payments, view filing history, and communicate with the agency simply and more efficiently on virtually any mobile device, including laptops, tablets, and smartphones, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 

Click here to File, Pay, or Register Now on myconneCT!

Electronic Payment Options

All IFTA tax payments (e.g., return payments) must be made electronically.

DRS myconneCT

Visit myconneCT to make an electronic payment. After logging in to myconneCT, find your tax account on the Summary screen, select the Make a Payment link, and choose your payment method.

Pay by Direct Payment: Using this option authorizes DRS to electronically withdraw a payment from your bank account (checking or savings) on a date you select up to the due date.

Pay by Credit Card or Debit Card: You may elect to pay your tax liability using a credit card (American Express®, Discover®, Master Card®, Visa®) or comparable debit card. A convenience fee will be charged by the credit card service provider. The convenience fee is generally 2.35% of the payment amount, with a minimum charge of $3.95. You will be informed of the amount of the fee and may elect to cancel the transaction. Your payment will be effective on the date that you make the charge.

At the end of the transaction, you will receive a confirmation number for your records. As a reminder, even if you pay electronically, you must still file your return by the due date. Tax not paid on or before the due date will be subject to penalty and interest.

ACH Credit

ACH credit method users should consult with their banking institution for guidelines to ensure that payment is received timely. (Taxpayers must pre‑register with the DRS Electronic Commerce Unit (ECU) prior to using this option). The taxpayer initiates an electronic payment through their banking institution. This payment must be sent in the ACH standard CCD+TXP format. For detailed information and a list of FAQs, review Informational Publication 2021(5)Filing and Paying Connecticut Taxes Electronically.

Interest and Penalties


Interest on all late taxes due to each jurisdiction. In general, interest applies to any portion of the tax not paid on or before the original due date of the return. If you do not pay the tax when due, you will owe interest at the applicable IFTA Annual Interest Rate.


The penalty for an incomplete return or late filing is calculated at 10% (.10) of the amount of the tax due and unpaid or $50, whichever is greater.