The Connecticut Alternate Assessment System (CTAA, CTAS and CAAELP)  


Connecticut's Alternate Assessment System is composed the following assessments for eligible students with significant cognitive disabilities:

Alternate Academic Assessments

Connecticut Alternate Assessments measure the knowledge and skills of students with significant cognitive disabilities as required by the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). They are designed to support student independence to the greatest extent possible by making academic and language content accessible and the expected achievement levels appropriate. The Connecticut Alternate Assessment System is comprised of the following assessments:

  • The Connecticut Alternate Assessment (CTAA)—aligned to the same Connecticut Core Standards (CCS) used to instruct and assess all of Connecticut’s public-school students in Grades 3-8 and 11 in the subject areas of mathematics and English language arts.
  • The Connecticut Alternate Science (CTAS) Assessment—aligned to the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) and administered to students in Grades 5, 8, and 11.
  • The Collaborative for the Alternate Assessment of English Language Proficiency (CAAELP)—designed for students with significant cognitive disabilities in Grades K-12 who are dually identified as English learners/multilingual learners (ELs/MLs) receiving services under IDEA. Content aligned to and derived from the Connecticut English Language Proficiency (CELP) standards define the tested domains of listening, speaking, reading, and writing.
  • Comparison of Alternate Assessments Chart

Fall 2022-23 Training

Connecticut Alternate Assessment Updates (PDFDuring this brief overview, topics such as the 2022-23 assessment window, teacher training, and processes for submitting the Connecticut Alternate Assessment Eligibility Form for students that qualify for the academic alternate assessments are discussed. The eligibility form also is used for students in Grades K-12 that are dually identified English learners/multilingual learners with significant cognitive disabilities that qualify for the new Connecticut Alternate English Language Proficiency Assessment (CAAELP).

Eligibility for the Alternate Assessment System

Students with significant cognitive disabilities are identified for participation in the Alternate Assessment System when the Planning and Placement Team (PPT) determines the student meets eligibility criteria using the require Alternate Assessment System Eligibility Form.

Resources Specific to the Alternate Assessment System

The Connecticut State Department of Education Comprehensive Assessment Program Portal provides access to test administration resources for the Connecticut Alternate Assessment System.  

Parent/Guardian Resources

Parent Overview of Connecticut’s Alternate Assessment System