Reading Leadership Implementation Council


Council members are appointed as outlined in statute.

  • Dr. Maureen Brummett, Superintendent, Newington Public Schools 
  • Dr. Michael Coyne, Dean of the Neag School of Education UCONN 
  • Dr. Margie, Gillis, Founder and President, Literacy How, Inc. 
  • Ms. Kim Healy, Wilton, CT 
  • Mr. Steven Hernandez Esq., Executive Director, Commission on Women, Children, Seniors, Equity & Opportunity (CWCSEO) 
  • Dr. Melissa Jenkins, Chief Academic Officer, Bridgeport Public Schools 
  • Ms. Cristina Kingsbury, Instructional Coach, Derby Public Schools 
  • Dr. Stephanie Lockhart, Assistant Principal, Windsor Public Schools 
  • Ms. Frances Rabinowitz, Executive Director, Connecticut Association of Public School Superintendents (CAPSS) 
  • Ms. Lisa Thomas, Retired Educator    
  • Ms. Christina Tietz, English Teacher, Waterbury Public Schools

Commission Staff

  • Dr. Melissa K. Wlodarczyk Hickey, Connecticut State Department of Education
  • Irene E. Parisi, Connecticut State Department of Education