RENTERS' REBATE PROGRAM HOTLINE 860.418.6377
2024 APPLICATION PERIOD OPENS APRIL 1ST
Renters' Rebate Program Description
State law provides a reimbursement program for Connecticut renters who are elderly or totally disabled, and whose incomes do not exceed certain limits. Persons renting an apartment or room or living in cooperative housing, or a mobile home may be eligible for this program. Renters' rebates can be up to $900 for married couples and $700 for single persons. The renters' rebate amount is based on a graduated income scale and the amount of rent and utility payments (excluding telephone) made in the calendar year prior to the year in which the renter applies. Application may be made at the municipality assessor's office or social service agency on or after April first and not later than October first.
If a renter misses the designated filing period they have until November 15th to submit a request for an extension of time to file to OPM. The request for an extension of time to file must be accompanied by a doctor’s letter indicating that the renter had a medical condition that contributed to them not applying during the designated filing period. The extension request must be received by OPM or postmarked no later than November 15th.
Payment of Renters' Rebate is made on or before October 30th. If a check is not received by November 15th contact the Renters' Rebate Program Hotline.
Taxpayer Renter's Rebate Application (M-35r) - File with local municipality only. Do not send to OPM.
If you have questions related to the Renters' Rebate Program please call the program hotline at 860.418.6377. If you are prompted to leave a message, please speak slowly and clearly, stating your name and phone number. A program representative will get back to you as soon as they can.
Recipient or spouse must be 65 years of age or older or be 50 years of age or older and the surviving spouse of a renter who at the time of the renter's death had qualified and was entitled to tax relief provided such spouse was domiciled with such renter at the time of the renters’ death, or 18 years of age or older and eligible to receive Social Security Disability benefits. Must meet a one-year state residency requirement. Grants are based upon income requirements shown in CGS Section 12-170e.
Statutory References: Connecticut General Statutes (CGS): Sections 12-170d, 12-170e, 12-170f, 12-170g, 12-170h, 12-170bb
Regulatory References: Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies: §12-170f-1 and §12-170f-2.