Grants Unit

The Grants Unit is responsible for planning inter-agency programs and coordinating policy development initiatives to improve Connecticut's criminal justice system and enhance community safety.  The Unit plans and manages the allocation of federal grant funds to support initiatives and projects that use a coordinated multi-disciplinary approach to ensure victim safety, improve offender accountability and reduce re-victimization.

 

Unit Functions

 

Plan distribution of federal grant funds, technical assistance and other resources to aid local governments, state agencies and community based organizations in creating safer communities.

Ensure project and program accountability through oversight and monitoring of grant funded activities.

Assist grant projects in developing data collection processes to comply with federal grant program requirements and document outcomes.

Assess cost effective strategies for reducing victimization and recidivism to support integration of planning and state budget development.

Communicate the value and impact of criminal justice initiatives through progress updates posted on websites, publications and reports.

Convene inter-agency forums and workgroups to assess emerging trends and issues.

Develop an inter-agency resource for identifying and tracking information on federally funded criminal justice initiatives operating throughout the state.

 

Grants and Programs

Federal Grant Programs administered by OPM CJPPD

State-Funded Programs  

Information on Federal Grant Programs

Division Management

 

NAME

TITLE

PHONE

E-MAIL

Marc Pelka

Undersecretary 860-418-6394 Marc.Pelka@ct.gov
 Maurice Reaves
Assistant Division Director
860-418-6298 Maurice.W.Reaves@ct.gov 

  

Unit Staff

 NAME  TITLE  PHONE  E-MAIL
Valina Carpenter
Policy Devel Coordinator
860-418-6220
Valina.Carpenter@ct.gov
Chidi Nwuneli Planning Analyst CCT 860-418-6341 Chidi.Nwuneli@ct.gov 

Nichole Howe

Associate Accountant

860-418-6443

Nichole.Howe@ct.gov

 Emily Burnett  Planning Analyst CCT  860-418-6365  Emily.Burnett@ct.gov

For general Office of Policy and Management Criminal Justice Policy and Planning Division inquiries, please contact:


NAME

TITLE

PHONE

E-MAIL

 AndrĂ© Simons   Secretary  860-418-6216 Andre.Simons@ct.gov