*SNAP Recipients: Starting in January 2023, DSS will be texting renewal reminders to recipients who need to submit their renewal forms. Texts will come from the DSS Benefits Center phone number (855-626-6632). Texts will be strictly informational. They will NOT ask for identifying or personal information. Click here for more information.

*Don’t miss important news about your benefits: Update your contact info online now! Visit Update Us (ct.gov)

*24/7 access to DSS: Already a DSS client? Use the MyDSS mobile-friendly app: www.ct.gov/mydss. Apply & renew services at www.connect.ct.gov, plus get benefit status, notices, report changes, upload/send documents & more!

Autism Spectrum Disorder - ASD


In order to be eligible to apply to the Waiver for Persons with Autism from the Department of Social Services (DSS) Division of Autism Spectrum Disorder Services, a person must have:

  1.  Legal residence


  2. A Primary diagnosis of Autism Spectrum Disorder supported by a standardized diagnostic instrument such as the Autism Diagnostic and Observation Schedule (ADOS), Childhood Autism Rating Scale (CARS), Gilliam Autism Rating Scale (GARS), etc. Evaluations that do not include a standardized test of autism will not serve to qualify individuals for the DSS Division of Autism Spectrum Disorder Services.


  3. At least 3 years of age


  4. A Full Scale IQ score of 70* or higher as indicated on a test of intelligence such as the Wechsler Intelligence Scale or Stanford-Binet. Intelligence testing that occurred during the developmental period (prior to the age of 18).  Psychological testing must be current (within three years).


    *For children under the age of 8, intelligence testing may not produce reliable and valid IQ scores, in which case eligibility is based on a diagnosis of autism and developmental delays.


  5. Substantial functional limitations in two or more of the following areas of major life activity: a) self-care,   b) understanding and use of language c) learning d) mobility e) self-direction f) capacity for independent living.


  6. Live in either their own home or their family home. Individuals who reside in residential or a school setting are not eligible for autism waiver services.     


  7. Medicaid eligibility (HUSKY A, C, or D).


  8. Impairment prior to age 22.


  9. Impairment expected to continue indefinitely.

Please follow this link for the eligibility application.

Please follow this link for the eligibility application in Spanish.

Please follow this link for the HIPAA Acknowlegement Letter.