COVID-19 Community Levels Map Update, Nov. 18, 2022: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has listed Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, New Haven, Tolland, and Windham Counties in the Medium/Yellow category as part of its COVID-19 Community Levels Map. New London County is currently listed in the Low/Green category. Visit the CDC COVID-19 Community Levels Map for updates.

Rabies Statistics


In Connecticut, animals are tested for rabies virus when people or domestic animals (dogs, cats, farm animals) might have been exposed to the virus. For information about what a rabies exposure is, visit the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention website. Animal testing is primarily done to help healthcare providers determine the best way to treat their patient.

The Connecticut Department of Public Health (CT DPH) State Public Health Laboratory (SPHL) tests animals for rabies virus only if a person had a bite or saliva exposure. Animals involved in incidents with domestic animals or with no human exposure can be tested at the Connecticut Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory (CVMDL) at the University of Connecticut. For more information about submitting animals to the CVMDL, call 860-486-3738.


In Connecticut, domestic animal bites to people or other domestic animals are reportable to the local animal control officer by the victim or animal owner.


Current rabies statistics

National rabies data

Line Listings 
Graphs & Figures

This page last updated 10/19/2022.