National Flood Insurance Program

National Flood Insurance Program logo

Congress established the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) with the passage of the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968. The NFIP is administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and community participation in the program is voluntary. Currently, all Connecticut municipalities participate in the NFIP (Community Status Book). The NFIP is comprised of three elements:

FEMA produces Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRM) which identify the Special Flood Hazard Areas (SFHA) within a community. These are high flood risk areas that would be inundated by the 100-year flood, also called the base flood. Communities participating in the NFIP must regulate development within SFHAs by adopting and enforcing a local floodplain management ordinance or zoning regulation which meets minimum Federal requirements, although many communities adopt higher regulatory standards. Property owners in participating communities are able to purchase flood insurance through the NFIP. Flood insurance coverage is a mandatory requirement of a mortgage if the structure is located in the SFHA. Flood insurance can be purchased for structures located both within or outside the SFHA.

The NFIP Community Rating System (CRS) is a voluntary incentive program that recognizes and encourages community floodplain management practices that exceed the minimum requirements of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). View more resources for Current and Prospective CRS Communities.

Additional Flood Management Resources

Flood Maps

Flood Maps –  Maintained through FEMA, flood maps are a tool that communities use to know which areas have the highest risk of flooding. 

FEMA Map Service Center – The FEMA Map Service Center (MSC) contains effective, preliminary and historic flood insurance rate maps (FIRM) and Flood Insurance Studies (FIS) for every municipality in Connecticut. The MSC also contains links to letters of map change (LOMC) and the National Flood Hazard Layer (NFHL) viewer and Flood Map Changes Viewer showing preliminary flood maps.

Limit of Moderate Wave Action (LiMWA) Viewer – LiMWA Viewer developed by FEMA Region I for New England delineating Coastal AE zones

Letters of Map Change (LOMC) – Letter of Map Amendment (LOMA), Letter of Map Revision (LOMR), Letter of Map Revision based on Fill (LOMR-F), Conditional Letter of Map Revision (CLOMR) 


Flood Regulations

Connecticut State Building Code

Highlights of ASCE24-14



Flood insurance – Learn more about flood insurance from FEMA – Information on flood insurance, find a local insurance agent

Summary of Coverage – This NFIP publication explains what is covered by a flood insurance policy

Risk Rating 2.0 – Find information on FEMA’s new flood insurance premium calculation methodology

Connecticut Risk Rating 2.0 State Profile – Find state profile and policy change analysis information by county and zip code.

NFIP Claims Handbook – Guidance on what to do before and after a flood event and filing a claim

Disaster Declarations – Find current Presidential disaster declarations for Connecticut

Disaster Assistance – Apply for disaster assistance online or by calling (800) 621-3362



CRS Coordinator's Manual, 2017

Addendum to the 2017 CRS Coordinator’s Manual

CRS Resources

CRS Webinars and Training

CRS Community Self Assessment

Small Communities in CRS



Torrent Newsletter A DEEP newsletter for Connecticut floodplain managers

Coastal Property Owner’s Guide

Rising Waters:  Planning for Flooding in Connecticut (video)

Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM)

Connecticut Association of Flood Managers (CAFM)

Connecticut Department of Insurance – Flood Insurance

DEEP Flood Management


Content Last Updated November 9, 2021