Water Planning Council Members
CGS Section 25-33o specifies that the Connecticut Water Planning Council shall be constituted of four members as follows:
John W. Betkoski III, Chair
Vice Chairman, Public Utilities Regulatory Authority (PURA)
John “Jack” Betkoski III has served on Connecticut’s utility regulatory authority since 1997 when he was named a Commissioner of the former Department of Public Utility Control (DPUC) and later elected Vice Chairman of that body in 2007.
When PURA was established on July 1, 2011 to replace DPUC as the state’s new regulatory authority, John was appointed a Director by Governor Dannel P. Malloy and elected as Vice Chairman of the new authority. John served as President of the New England Conference of Public Utilities Commissioners (NECPUC) and is on the Executive Committee of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC).

In addition to his NECPUC and NARUC responsibilities, John is a member of the American Water Works Association Research Foundation’s Public Council on Drinking Water Research. He was also a member of the EPA National Drinking Water Advisory Council, serving on its Water Security Working Group.

John is past Chairman of the Board of Directors for Griffin Hospital in Derby, and serves as Chairman of the Board of Directors for the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, Connecticut Chapter. He is on the board of Waterbury Youth Services, and VARCA, Inc. of Derby, a private non-profit agency which provides work opportunities to individuals with special needs. He also is a member of the Advisory Board of The Salvation Army of Waterbury.

John served as a member of the Connecticut General Assembly, representing the 105th District (Ansonia, Beacon Falls, and Seymour) as a state representative from 1987-1997. He was co-chairman of the legislature’s Commerce Committee from 1993 to 1997. His experience in the legislature and in working with issues affecting the underprivileged, through various human service agencies, gives him a unique perspective on the needs of all segments of Connecticut's population.

John was the Waterbury Salvation Army’s Director of Human Services from 1989-1997, and held various administrative positions in human services agencies from 1974-1989. He served on Beacon Falls’ Board of Selectmen from 1981-1987 and Board of Finance from 1979-1981. He presently serves as Commissioner on the Beacon Falls Economic Development Commission.

Born in Waterbury and a lifelong resident of Beacon Falls, Connecticut, John received his B.A. from Sacred Heart University, and his M.S. and Sixth Year Diploma in Advanced Studies in Administration and Supervision from Southern Connecticut State University.
Martin Heft
Undersecretary, Intergovernmental Policy and Planning Division, Office of Policy and Management (OPM)
Martin Heft came to OPM with over thirty years of municipal and state experience.  Previously he led OPM's Data Collection and Grants Management unit. Before Martin joined OPM in 2018, he was Senior Advisor to Nancy Wyman in her elected positions of Lieutenant Governor and Comptroller.  Martin’s municipal experience spans twenty years in the Town of Chester holding several leadership roles including First Selectman, Selectman, Town Treasurer and Assistant Town Clerk. 
Lori Mathieu
Public Health Section Chief, Drinking Water Section, Connecticut Department of Public Health (DPH)
Lori Mathieu is Connecticut’s Public Drinking Water Administrator serving as the Public Health Section Chief with the Connecticut Department of Public Health’s Drinking Water Section. The Drinking Water Section is responsible for primacy of the Federal Safe Drinking Water Act and a variety of state statutes that oversee the purity and adequacy of Connecticut’s 2,550 public water systems.  Lori has worked within the Department’s Drinking Water Section in a variety of units and programs. Lori currently serves as the DPH appointed representative to the Water Planning Council, represents New England Region 1 as a Board member to the Association of State Drinking Water Administrators, represents DPH on the Connecticut Interagency Drought Workgroup, and serves as the Chair of her town’s Inland Wetland Agency.
Graham Stevens
Bureau Chief, Bureau of Water Protection and Land Reuse, Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP)
Graham Stevens is the Bureau Chief of the Bureau of Water Protection and Land Reuse, which is comprised of the Remediation, Land and Water Resources, and Water Planning and Management Divisions.  Prior to his current role, Graham served as Office Director of Constituent Affairs and Land Management and Chief of Staff to both Commissioner Amey Marrella and Commissioner Gina McCarthy.  He also served as the Department’s first Brownfields Coordinator.  Mr. Stevens holds a B.A. in Environmental Geography from Clark University and a M.S. in Water Resources from the University of Connecticut.