Easing into Secondary Transition Contacts

This guide provides information about professional development opportunities related to secondary transition as well as resources and services available statewide. These opportunities are wonderful resources for districts looking to improve and enhance secondary transition services. This guide captures a sampling of the available statewide offerings related to secondary education and adult services.

 

Agency link and logo

Agency name

Agency type

Contact

logo 

ACES Area Cooperative Educational Services

 

Map of RESC coverage areas

Regional educational service center

Eric Protulis

Director of Pupil Services

203-498-6849

eprotulis@aces.org

 

BESB - Bureau of Education and Services for the Blind/ADS - Department of Aging and Disability Services

State agency

Mary Burgard

Vocational Rehabilitation Supervisor

860-602-4032

mary.burgard@ct.gov

 

BRS - Bureau of Rehabilitation Services/ADS - Department of Aging and Disability Services

 

Connect-Ability

 

Map of BRS Level Up coverage areas

State agency

Lynn Frith

Education Consultant

860-424-4863

lynn.frith@ct.gov

 

CES - Cooperative Educational Services

 

Map of RESC coverage areas

Regional educational service center

Mike McGrath

Director of Special Education

203-365-8837

mcgrathm@cestrumbull.org

 

Terri Garrity

Administrator

Transition Learning Center

203-365-8869

garrityt@cestrumbull.org

 

Margo Sheldon

Transition Specialist/

Component Leader

Transition Learning Center

203-365-8877

sheldonm@cestrumbull.org

 

Maureen Steinberg

CES Transition Consultant

203-365-8877

steinbergm@cestrumbull.org

 

CPAC - Connecticut Parent Advocacy Center

Statewide services

Laura Knapp

Transition Coordinator

860-739-3089

lknapp@cpacinc.org

 

CREC - Capitol Region Education Council

 

Map of RESC coverage areas

Regional educational service center

Heather Tartaglia

Director of Student Services

860-509-3732

htartaglia@crec.org

 

Claudia Elfreich

Education Specialist

860-839-4513

celfreich@crec.org

 

CSDE - Connecticut State Department of Education, Bureau of Special Education

State agency

Alycia M. Trakas

Education Consultant

860-713-6932

alycia.trakas@ct.gov

 

DDS - Department of Developmental Services

 

Map of DDS coverage areas

State agency

Amber Burke

Employment and Day Services

Coordinator

860-418-6006

amber.burke@ct.gov

logo 

DMHAS - Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services

 

Find DMHAS services in your area

State agency

Ellen Econs

Employment Systems Manager

860-418 6770

ellen.econs@ct.gov

 

Scott Kupis

Special Education Director

860-262-7009

scott.kupis@ct.gov

 

EASTCONN

 

Map of RESC coverage areas

Regional educational service center

Amy Margelony

Director of Special Services

860-455-0707

amargelony@eastconn.org

 

Christine DiGiacomo

Transition Coordinator

860-933-1257

cdigiacomo@eastconn.org

 

Rose Jaffery

Licensed Psychologist

860-576-2537

rjaffery@eastconn.org

 

Amy Norton

Assistive Technology Professional and

Transition Coordinator

860-933-1826

anorton@eastconn.org

logo 

EdAdvance

 

Map of RESC coverage areas

Regional educational service center

Jody Minotti

Director of WorkspaceCT and Regional

Initiatives

860-567-0863

minotti@edadvance.org

 

Annette Miserez-Dillon

Director of Special Education Programs

and Services

adillon@edadvance.org

860-567-0863, ext. 1040

 

Sheri Staranchak

Assistant Director of Regional Initiatives

860-480-2223

staranchak@edadvance.org

 

LEARN

 

Map of RESC coverage areas

Regional educational service center

Bridgette Gordon-Hickey

Deputy Executive Director

860-400-0840, ext. 2000

bghickey@learn.k12.ct.us

 

Tim Doyle

Transition Specialist

860-237-7727

tdoyle@learn.k12.ct.us

 

SERC - State Education Resource Center

Statewide services

Missy Wrigley

Consultant

860-632-1485, ext. 397

wrigley@ctserc.org

 

Download this list of statewide secondary transition contacts