COVID-19 Community Levels Map Update, September 30, 2022:The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has listed New Haven, Fairfield, Litchfield, Middlesex, Hartford, Tolland, and Windham Counties in the Medium/Yellow category as part of its COVID-19 Community Levels Map. New London County is listed in the Low/Green categories. Visit the CDC COVID-19 Community Levels Map for updates.

Monkeypox: Please visit our monkeypox webpage for the latest updates.

Effective October 1, 2014, the authority for administration of the Stem Cell Research Program transferred to Connecticut Innovations. A link to the Connecticut Innovations webpage is provided:

Connecticut General Statutes §19a-32d through §19a-32g mandated the establishment of the Connecticut Stem Cell Research Advisory and Peer Review Committees by October 1, 2005.


The Stem Cell Research Advisory Committee was originally made up of nine members.  By statute, the Advisory Committee is chaired by the Commissioner of the Connecticut Department of Public Health (DPH). Other members of the committee are appointed by the Governor and by various leaders of the General Assembly from the fields of stem cell research, stem cell investigators, bioethics, embryology, genetics, cellular biology and business. Committee members commit to a two-year or four-year term of service.  Public Act 06-33 amended the original law and mandates the appointment of an additional eight members by July 1, 2006. 


Responsibilities of the Advisory Committee include the development and oversight of the stem cell research grants-in-aid program, the development of a donated funds program to encourage the development of funds other than state appropriations for embryonic and human adult stem cell research, and the promotion of for-profit and not-for-profit stem cell and related research in the State.  The Advisory Committee is also responsible to report annually to the Governor and General Assembly on (1) the amount of grants-in-aid awarded to eligible institutions, (2) the recipients of such grants-in-aid, and (3) the current status of stem cell research in the state.


The legislation established a Stem Cell Research Peer Review Committee originally consisting of five members with demonstrated and practical knowledge, understanding and experience of the ethical and scientific implications of embryonic and adult stem cell research.  Public Act 07-252 allows the DPH Commissioner to appoint additional members as deemed necessary for the review of applications, provided the total number does not exceed fifteen.  The DPH Commissioner appoints all committee members for either two or four-year terms.  In consideration of potential conflict of interest concerns, all members appointed are from out of state, and four of the members to date are international researchers.  The Peer Review Committee reviews all grant applications for scientific and ethical merit, guided by the National Acadamies “Guidelines for Human Embryonic Stem Cell Research.” The Peer Review Committee makes its recommendations on grant recipients to the Stem Cell Research Advisory Committee.


Stem Cell Research Advisory Committee





Jewel Mullen, M.D., M.P.H., M.P.A.



CT Department of Public Health

410 Capitol Avenue

P.O. Box 340308

Hartford, CT 06134-0308




Treena Livingston Arinzeh, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Department of Biomedical Engineering

New Jersey Institute of Technology

University Heights

614 Fenster Hall

Newark, NJ 07102-1982



Richard H. Dees, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Philosophy

University of Rochester

Rochester, NY 04627-8110


  Sandra Engle, Ph.D.

Pluripotent Stem Cell & Molecular Biology Lab 

 PDM-NCE Primary Pharmacology Group

 Pfizer Inc

 Eastern Point Road

 Mail location MS 220-4340

 Groton, CT 06340


Gerald Fishbone, M.D.

Hospital of St. Raphael

New Haven, CT

Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics

Child Health Research Center





David Goldhamer, Ph.D






Robert Grosso


Director, Center for Regenerative Biology

Dept. of Molecular and Cell Biology

University of Connecticut

1392 Storrs Road

Storrs, CT 06269-4243


Principal Owner, Advanced Clinical Perspectives, LLC

39 Farm Rd

Bethany, CT 06524




Ronald P. Hart, Ph.D.


Cell Biology and Neuroscience

W.M. Keck Center for Collaboration

Rutgers University

Piscataway, NJ 08854


Christopher Heinen, Ph.D.




James J. Hughes, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, UConn Health Center

Farmington, CT


Director, Institutional Research and Planning

Trinity College

300 Summit Street

Hartford, CT 06106



 Ann Kiessling, Ph.D.

Harvard Institutes of Medicine

4 Blackfan Circle, Room 248

Boston, MA 02115


Diane Krause, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Laboratory Medicine, Pathology and Cell Biology

Yale Laboratory Medicine

Yale-New Haven Hospital

20 York Street

Park Street 3B

New Haven, CT  06510 



Paul Pescatello, Ph.D., J.D.

Executive Committee, Board of Directors

Chair, BioScience Growth Council


350 Church Street
Third Floor
Hartford, CT 06103



Milton B. Wallack, DDS

295 Washington Avenue

Hamden, CT 06518



 Back to Top


Stem Cell Research Peer Review Committee



 Jose B. Cibelli, DVM, Ph.D.
 Professor of Animal Biotechnology
 Physiology Department & Animal Science Department
 Michigan State University



Jeremy M. Crook, Ph.D.





Stephen Dalton, Ph.D.





Dieter C. Gruenert, Ph.D.

Head, Stem Cells & Disease Models Laboratory Centre for Neural Engineering

The University of Melbourne, Associate Professor & Principal Fellow

St. Vincent's Hospital, Australia


Professor, GRA Eminent Scholar & Chair in Molecular Cell Biology

Director, Center for Molecular Medicine

University of Georgia, Athens, GA


Professor, Department of Otolaryngology

Head and Neck Surgery Professor

Eli and Edythe Broad Center for Regenerative Medicine and Stem Cell Research

University of California, San Francisco

Head and Neck Cancer Lab

Mt. Zion Cancer Center

2340 Sutter Street, Box 1330, N319

San Francisco, CA  94115


  Ales Hampl, DVM, Ph.D.
 Head of the Department of Histology and Embryology
 Vice-Dean for Research; Faculty of Medicine
 Masaryk University
 Brno, Czech Republic
  Anjana Jain, Ph. D.
 Assistant Professor, Biotechnical Engineering
 Worcester Polytechnic Institute
 60 Prescott St/Gateway Park 3rd Floor
 BME Department
 Worcester, MA  01605



Majlinda Lako, Ph.D

Senior Lecturer

Institute of Human Genetics

University of Newcastle upon Tyne

International Centre for Life

Central Parkway

Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 3BZ

United Kingdom


 Christopher J. Lengner, Ph.D.   
 Assistant Professor, Animal Biology
 School of Veterinary Medicine
 Cell & Developmental Biology
 School of Medicine
 University of Pennsylvania
 Philadelphia, PA  


Linheng Li, Ph.D.


Stowers Institute for Medical Research

1000 East 50th Street

Kansas City, Missouri 64110




Martin Pera, Ph.D.

Program Leader Stem Cells Australia

Chair, Stem Cell Sciences

University of Melbourne

Victoria 3010 Australia


 Jeffrey L. Spees, Ph.D.
 Assistant Professor of Medicine
 Director of Stem Cell Core
 University of Vermont
 Colch. Res. Facil, RM T161
 Burlington, VT  05405



Gary S. Stein, Ph.D.




 Chair, Department of Biochenistry

 Co-Director, Vermont Cancer Center for Basic

 and Transitional Research

 University of Vermont Medical School

 C401 Given Building

 89 Baeumont Avenue

 Burlington, VT  05405


 Ludovic Vallier, Ph.D.
 Anne McLaren Laboratory for Regenerative
 Medicine, Department of Surgery
 University of Cambridge
 West Forvie Building, Robinson Way
 Cambridge CB2 OSZ United Kingdom
 Daniel J. Weiss, MD, Ph.D.
 Associate Professor, Pulmonary and Critical Care
 Vermont Lung Center
 University of Vermont College of Medicine
 Burlington, VT  05405 
 Sayyed Kaleem Zaidi, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor Vermont Cancer Center
Department of Biochemistry
90 Beaumont Avenue 
Burlington, VT 05405 
Back to top