The Connecticut Newborn Screening Program
Laws and Regulations
State Regulations (Sec.19a-55-1-19a-55-3) require those overseeing the medical care of newborns to collect a blood-spot specimen, from each newborn infant in their care, for genetic and metabolic testing in accordance with Sec. 19a-55 of the Connecticut General Statutes. This specimen must be collected before the fourth day of life (96 hours of age), prior to discharge from the birthing center/birth hospital or as soon as medically appropriate after birth. This blood-spot specimen must be shipped to the State Laboratory or designated facility within 48 hours of collection. Please refer to the CT Newborn Screening (NBS) Specimen Collection Guidelines for specific recommendations on the timing of and procedure for NBS specimen collection. Birthing facilities, NICU care providers, midwives and primary care providers have a responsibility to know the NBS status of each infant in their care, and to assure that each infant has a valid newborn screen on record. This includes infants who may not have been born in the state but reside and/or receive medical care in the state.
Connecticut State Statutes also mandate newborn screening for Cystic Fibrosis (CF), hearing deficits, serious heart defects (Critical Coronary Heart Defects—CCHD) and Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV). Cystic Fibrosis (CF) screening is conducted by the CF programs of Yale New Haven Hospital (YNHH) and the UCONN Health Center (UCHC). Screenings for hearing, CCHD and Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) are usually conducted by the hospital of birth within the first few days of life.
|Back to Overview||Purpose||History and Description||Testing, Follow-Up, Tracking and Treatment|
Click here for a link to the official state statute page.