New legislative updates (Public Act 22-49) will take effect on January 1, 2023
Website updates coming soon!
Notice: Providers should fax blood lead results to 959-200-4751. This fax is for providers that do blood lead testing in their offices and report them to DPH's Childhood Lead Program.
|Lead Testing Requirements||Requirements and Guidance Fact Sheet|
|Lead Exposure Risk Assessment Questions||Regional Lead Treatment Centers|
|Time Table for Confirming Capillary Tests||Notices and Advisories|
|Schedule for Follow Up Venous Testing||Resources|
Blood Lead Testing Requirements in Connecticut
Primary care providers that give pediatric care in Connecticut must:
- Provide the children’s families with health education on childhood lead poisoning before testing.
- Conduct annual lead tests on all children 9 months to 35 months of age. (Most doctors test at 12 months and 24 months of age to meet this requirement.)
- Conduct a lead test on children between 36 and 72 months of age if they were not previously tested.
- Conduct a lead test on children between 36 and 72 months of age if clinically indicated as determined by the primary care provider.
- Conduct a lead test on children under 6 years of age if they have developmental delays.
- Conduct a medical risk assessment (see below) at least annually for each child 36 to 72 months of age.
- Report all blood lead levels of children under 6 years of age to DPH if Lead Care testing is done in office. (All labs are required to report the blood lead test results of children living in Connecticut to DPH.)
- Does your child live in or regularly visit a house that was built before 1978? Ask about day care center, preschool, the home of a baby sitter or a relative, recent move, etc.
- Does your child have a brother or sister, housemate, or playmate being followed or treated for lead poisoning?
- Does your child frequently come in contact with an adult whose job or hobby involves exposure to lead (e.g. construction, welding, firing range, metal fabrication, weapon manufacturing, electronics, other trades practiced in your community, stained glass making; using lead solder, artist paints or ceramic glazes, etc.)?
- Has your child been exposed to any imported products, such as spices, foods, vitamins ethnic home remedies or ethnic cosmetics? Examples include azarcon (also known as rueda, Maria Luisa, alarcon, liga); albayalde; greta; pay-loo-ah; ghasard; bala goli; kandu; kohl, litargirio, bebetina, and chyawan prash.
If the answer to any of the above questions is YES, then the 36 to 72 month old child is considered to be at risk and should be screened with a blood lead test.
Schedule for Venous Follow-up Testing
There are two Regional Lead Treatment Centers in Connecticut that specialize in providing guidance and assistance with clinical management of a lead poisoned child. They are located at Connecticut Children’s Medical Center in Hartford and at Yale-New Haven Hospital in New Haven.
- Contact the Connecticut Children's Medical Center RLTC at (860) 837-9901
- Contact Yale RLTC at (203) 688-2195 (the secretary will transfer you to the appropriate contact)
LeadCare II recall 5/17/17
- Letter to lab directors 6/1/17
- FDA Warning on LeadCare Analyzers and Venous Testing 5/17/17
- CDC Health Advisory - Potential for Falsely Low Blood Lead Test Results from LeadCare Analyzers 5/17/17
- LeadCare Analyzers Not Acceptable for Confirmatory Venous Testing (Circular Letter #: 2016-02)
- DPH Letter to Clinical Providers re: Testing Requirements and Parent Education
1. Eliminating lead paint dust is one way to go about preventing childhood lead poisoning. To learn how to keep homes safe and protect children from lead read this brochure.
3. Lead in Drinking Water Factsheet
4. Lead Poisoning Prevention Fact Sheet: