June 24, 2022: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has listed Fairfield, Hartford, New London, Middlesex, Tolland, and Windham Counties in Low/Green the as part of its COVID-19 Community Levels Map. Only Litchfield, Middlesex and New Haven County are listed in the Medium/Yellow category. Residents who live in the Medium /Yellow counties who are at a high risk for severe illness, should talk to their health care provider about whether to wear a mask and take other precautions. These residents should stay up to date with their COVID-19 vaccines and get tested if they have symptoms. Visit the CDC COVID-19 Community Levels Map for updates.

Public Health Office of Legal Compliance

Public Health Office of Legal Compliance (OLC) prepares evidence and witnesses for public administrative hearings and settles legal cases involving over 60 different professions licensed and regulated by the Connecticut Department of Public Health.  The legal cases may concern:


  • Emergency Actions when the public’s health is in clear and immediate danger;
  • Violations of statutes and regulations;
  • Standard of care violations;
  • Unlicensed practice;
  • Prelicensure and Reinstatement agreements; and
  • Consent Order settlements.

 

The OLC is also responsible for:

 

  • Representing the agency in administrative hearings before  professional healthcare licensing Boards and Commissions;
  • Filing legal motions and briefs regarding healthcare licensure actions;
  • Preparing and presenting evidence to Hearing Officers;
  • Ensuring civil penalties are processed efficiently;
  • Providing information for reporting adverse actions to national databases; and
  • Processing long-term care criminal history and patient abuse background searches pursuant to Section 19a-491c of the General Statutes.
Contact Information

Public Health Office of Legal Compliance
410 Capitol Avenue, MS# 12LEG
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT  06134-7648
General Number:  860-509-7600
Fax Number:        860-509-7650

 

PRINCIPAL ATTORNEY: 

Matthew Antonetti, Esq.       matthew.antonetti@ct.gov

 

STAFF ATTORNEYS:

Brittany C. Allen, Esq.          brittany.allen@ct.gov
Linda L. Fazzina, Esq.           linda.fazzina@ct.gov
Joelle C. Newton, Esq.          joelle.newton@ct.gov
Leslie S. Scoville, Esq.          leslie.scoville@ct.gov
David Tilles, Esq.                 david.tilles@ct.gov
Diane Wilan, Esq.                 diane.wilan@ct.gov
 
ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF:

Maria Garcia                       maria.garcia@ct.gov
Carmen Miranda                 carmen.miranda@ct.gov


Long-term Care Background Check Program

Applicant Background Check Management System: 

Telephone Number:            (860) 509-8366

Fax Number:                      (860) 707-1976

Email:                                dph.ABCMS@ct.gov

  

SUPERVISOR

Patricia Trella                      patricia.trella@ct.gov

 

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF:
Frances Sanchez                  frances.sanchez@ct.gov
Latice Singleton                   latice.singleton@ct.gov
Leslie Williams                     leslie.williams@ct.gov