State Parks and Forests Fees

Connecticut has launched the Passport to Parks Program. Visitors with Connecticut registered vehicles are no longer required to pay a parking fee at CT State Parks and Forest recreation areas.

Parking fees are still required for visitors with out-of-state registered vehicles from April 1 through October 31 at the parks listed below. Parking fees are payable online at www.reserveamerica.com, or on site at parks and forest areas with open ticket booths. Parking fees still apply when ticket booths are closed. 

Parking fees are due by 10pm on the day of the visit. If payment is not made by that time, an infraction violation ($75.00 fine) may be issued to the registered owner of the vehicle pursuant to RCSA 23-4-1(y). 

To pay the parking fee online, please visit www.reserveamerica.com and search the park name, and select the option that says the name of the park you are visiting and 'day use'.  If you are a first time user, you will need to create an account, which can be used to pay parking fees for any future visits to our parks.  

Out-of-state vehicle parking fees may also be paid over the phone by calling Reserve America toll free 1-877-668-CAMP (2267) during their call center hours:
  
May 1 – September 1
Monday - Wednesday: 8 am - 2:30 pm
Thursday - Friday: 8 am - 6:30 pm
Saturday and Sunday: 9 am - 12 pm
 
Off Peak Season
Monday - Friday: 9 am - 12 pm

Some parks and forest areas do not charge a parking fee and others charge only for weekends and holidays.  The locations listed below have fees that apply for out-of-state vehicle parking or camping.

State Park Fees

State Forest Fees

Dinosaur, Fort Trumbull and Gillette Castle State Parks offer free parking for all visitors.  There is a per person admission fee to visit the Dinosaur Exhibit Center, the Fort Trumbull Visitor Center or for touring the Castle.

Special Passes

  • The Charter Oak Pass provides access to the exhibit spaces of Dinosaur, Fort Trumbull and Gillette Castle State Parks and is available free to Connecticut residents, 65 years of age or older.  There is no parking fee at these parks.
  • The Heritage Passport provides convenient access to the exhibit space of three unique parks: Dinosaur, Fort Trumbull and Gillette Castle. There is no parking fee at these parks. 
  • The Veterans Pass provides access to the exhibit spaces of Dinosaur, Fort Trumbull and Gillette Castle State Parks and is available free to Connecticut residents with a service connected disability.  There is no parking fee at these parks.
  • Season passes allow unlimited out of state vehicle access to any state park or recreation area that has a parking fee.

KEY:

  • R= CT Registered Vehicle Fee
  • NC= No Charge
  • NR= Out-of-State Registered Vehicle Fee
  • N/A= Not Applicable

State Park Fees

A - D
Park Name

Weekends/
Holidays

Weekdays Camping
Bigelow Hollow State Park

NC - R

$15.00 NR

NC-R

$10.00 NR

N/A
Black Rock State Park and Campground

NC - R

$15.00 NR

NC - R

$10.00 NR

$17/night CT residents

$27/night/non-CT residents

$50/night rustic cabins for residents

$60/night rustic cabins for non-CT residents
 
Plus Reservation Processing Fee

Bluff Point State Park

NC - R

$15.00 NR

NC - R

$10.00 NR

 N/A
Burr Pond State Park

NC - R

$15.00 NR

NC - R

$10.00 NR

N/A
Chatfield Hollow State Park

NC - R

$15.00 NR

NC - R

$10.00 NR

N/A
Devil's Hopyard State Park and Campground NC NC

$14/night CT residents

$24/night non-CT residents
 
Plus Reservation Processing Fee

Dinosaur State Park

Exhibit Center (Currently Closed through 8/1/22)
Age 13 and Over: $6
Ages 6-12: $2
Ages 5 and under: Free

No charge to visit the grounds and trails.  

Heritage Passport Information

N/A
E - H
Park Name Weekends/
Holidays
Weekdays Camping
Fort Trumbull State Park

Visitor Center and Fort Tours Only:
Age 13 and Over: $6
Ages 6-12: $2
Ages 5 and under: Free

Heritage Passport Information

N/A
Gay City State Park

NC - R

$15.00 NR

NC - R

$10.00 NR

N/A
Gillette Castle State Park

Castle Tours:
Age 13 and Over: $6
Ages 6-12: $2
Ages 5 and under: Free

Heritage Passport Information

N/A
Hammonasset State Park and Campground

NC - R

$22.00 NR
$7 NR after 4 pm when ticket booth is open (May 28 - Sept. 5, 2022)

NC - R

$15.00 NR
$7 NR after 4 pm when ticket booth is open (May 28 - Sept. 5, 2022)

$20/$35/night CT residents
 
$30/$45/night non-CT residents
 
$70/night rustic cabin CT residents
 
$80/night rustic cabin non-CT residents

Plus Reservation Processing Fee
Harkness Memorial State Park

NC - R

$15.00 NR


NC - R

$10.00 NR

 

N/A
Hopeville Pond State Park and Campground

NC - R

$15.00 NR

NC - R

$10.00 NR

$17/night CT residents

$27/night for non-CT residents

$50/night rustic cabins for residents

$60/night rustic cabins for non-CT residents

Plus Reservation Processing Fee

Housatonic Meadows State Park and Campground NC NC

$17/night CT residents

$27/night non-CT residents

$50/night rustic cabins for residents

$60/night rustic cabins for non-CT residents
Plus Reservation Processing Fee

I - P

Park Name Weekends/
Holidays
Weekdays Camping
Indian Well State Park

NC - R

$15.00 NR
$6 NR after 4 pm

 

NC - R

$10.00 NR
$6 NR after 4 pm

 

N/A
Kent Falls State Park

 

NC - R

$15.00 NR

 

 

NC - R

$10.00 NR

 

N/A
Kettletown State Park and Campground

NC - R

$15.00 NR

NC - R

$10.00 NR

$17/night CT residents

$27/night non-CT residents

$50/night rustic cabins for residents

$60/night rustic cabins for non-CT residents
 
Plus Reservation Processing Fee

Lake Waramaug State Park and Campground

NC - R

$15.00 NR

NC - R

$10.00 NR

$17/night CT residents

$27/night non-CT residents

$50/night rustic cabins for residents

$60/night rustic cabins for non-CT residents
 
Plus Reservation Processing Fee

Macedonia Brook State Park and Campground NC NC

$14/night CT residents

$24/night non-CT residents
 
Plus Reservation Processing Fee

Mashamoquet Brook State Park and Campground NC NC

$14/night CT residents

$24/night non-CT residents
 
Plus Reservation Processing Fee

Mount Tom State Park

 

NC - R

$15.00 NR

 

 

NC - R

$10.00 NR

 

N/A

Q - Z

Park Name Weekends/
Holidays
Weekdays Camping
Quaddick State Park

 

NC - R

$15.00 NR

 

 

NC - R

$10.00 NR

 

N/A
Rocky Neck State Park and Campground

 

NC - R

$22.00 NR
$7 NR after 4 pm when ticket booth is open

 

 

NC - R

$15.00 NR
$7 NR after 4 pm when ticket booth is open

 

$20/night CT residents

$30/night non-CT residents
 
Plus Reservation Processing Fee

Salt Rock State Park Campground

NC

NC

$33/$37/$40/night CT residents

$45/$48/$52/night non-CT residents
 
Plus Reservation Processing Fee

Selden Neck State Park NC NC $5 per person per night
(Primitive riverside camping)
Sherwood Island State Park

 

NC - R


$22.00 NR
$7 NR after 4 pm when ticket booth is open (May 28 - Sept. 5, 2022)

 

 

NC - R


$15.00 NR
$7 NR after 4 pm when ticket booth is open (May 28 - Sept. 5, 2022)

 

N/A
Silver Sands State Park

 

NC - R

$22.00 NR

 

 

NC - R

$15.00 NR

 

 N/A
Sleeping Giant State Park

 

NC - R

$15.00 NR
$6 NR after 4 pm

 

NC - R

$10.00 NR

N/A
Squantz Pond State Park

 

NC - R

$22.00 NR
$7 NR after 4 pm

 

 

NC - R

$15.00 NR
$7 NR after 4 pm

 

N/A
Stratton Brook State Park

 

NC - R

$15.00 NR

 

 

NC - R

$10.00 NR

 

N/A
 Talcott Mountain State Park

 

NC - R

$15.00 NR

 

 

NC - R

$10.00 NR

 

N/A
Wadsworth Falls State Park

 

NC - R

$15.00 NR

 

 

NC - R

$10.00 NR

 

N/A
Wharton Brook State Park NC NC N/A

State Forest Fees

Park Name Weekends/
Holidays
Weekdays Camping
American Legion State Forest and Campground NC NC

$17/night CT residents

$27/night non-CT residents
 
Plus Reservation Processing Fee

Cockaponset State Forest-Pattaconk Recreation Area

NC - R

$15.00 NR

NC - R

$10.00 NR

N/A
Pachaug State Forest- Mt. Misery Campground NC NC

$14/night CT residents

$24/night non-CT residents

Pachaug State Forest- Green Falls Campground

NC

NC

$17/night CT residents

$27/night non-CT residents

People's State Forest and Campground

NC - R

$15.00 NR

NC - R

$10.00 NR

$17/night CT residents

$27/night non-CT residents
 
Plus Reservation Processing Fee


If you have questions or need additional information on Connecticut State Parks and Forests, please contact the State Parks Division by e-mail at deep.stateparks@ct.gov or by phone at 860-424-3200.

Content last updated May 2022