DEEP is continuing to carry out its mission and provide services while keeping both the public and our workforce safe during the COVID-19 pandemic. Click here for the latest updates on DEEP's response to COVID-19. DEEP COVID-19 Response

Noise Pollution Control

Municipal Noise Regulation Programs

The policy of the state is to promote an environment free from noise to the extent that it jeopardizes the health and welfare of the citizens of the State of Connecticut. The first point of contact for the resolution of local noise issues is your local government official. In some towns the local Department of Health can assist, while in others you will need to contact Town Hall to identify the appropriate official.

In accordance with Connecticut General Statutes Section 22a-73, DEEP reviews and approves municipal noise ordinances. For reference purposes, the following table sets out approved municipal noise ordinance text by town.

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view the Adobe PDF files on this page.

Ordinance (by Town Name) Date of DEEP Approval
Ansonia 06-13-01
Beacon Falls 04-29-16
Bloomfield 02-09-18
Branford 10-12-89
Bridgeport -
Bristol 10-24-04
Colchester 09-12-00
Cromwell 08-10-94
Danbury 05-29-12
Darien 12-04-95
Derby 05-12-99
Durham 06-05-00
East Granby 11-16-87
East Hartford 11-19-01
East Lyme 10-25-12
East Windsor 09-30-93
Enfield 06-20-01
Fairfield 07-09-85
Farmington 06-21-09
Greenwich 01-27-84
Groton Long Point 08-21-01
Hamden 01-25-01
Hartford 02-27-09
Killingly 11-21-05
Manchester -
Middletown 05-17-17
New Britain 04-03-96
New Canaan 10-11-06
New Haven 07-25-06
New London -
Newington 03-24-82
Newtown 07-09-09
North Branford 07-19-90
North Haven -
Norwalk 05-17-17
Old Lyme 01-11-85
Old Saybrook -
Orange | Amendment 11-05-02 | 06-13-07
Portland 10-02-01
Prospect 06-28-19
Ridgefield 03-24-03
Rocky Hill 12-08-16
Seymour 07-25-83
Shelton 04-10-78
Somers -
South Windsor 11-03-82
Sprague 04-26-11
Stamford 01-03-17
Stratford 11-20-85
Tolland 09-28-06
Trumbull 09-28-06
Union 07-02-87
Voluntown 04-13-83
Wallingford 09-27-02
Waterbury 10-22-87
Waterford 10-08-93
West Hartford 11-17-82
West Haven | Amendment 12-20-84 | 12-21-03
Westbrook -
Wethersfield | Amendment -
Windham 04-16-10
Windsor 07-26-82
Woodbridge 11-05-02

Note: As of 1/21/2016 the Torrington Area Health District has repealed their noise ordinance. The ordinance covered the following towns: Bethlehem, Cornwall, Goshen, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, Norfolk, Plymouth, Salisbury, Thomaston, Torrington, Warren, Watertown, and Winchester.

Related Links

Content last updated February 3, 2020