Connecticut COVID-19 Response
Page 4 of 7
I get cash assistance / Temporary Family Assistance (TFA) from the Department of Social Services. But in order to continue my benefits, I have to show up in person to prove my eligibility. What do I do now?3/18/2021
Governor Lamont has authorized the Connecticut Department of Social Services (DSS) to waive the requirement for in-person recertification at the present time.
Assistance and ReliefFamilies and childrenOfficial Guidelines
Has the COVID-19 response changed the date that I need to file my Income and Expense Report for my rental property?3/15/2021
Connecticut General Statutes requires any owner (individual or business) of income producing real property to file an Income and Expense Report annually.
Assistance and ReliefOfficial GuidelinesRenters and Homeowners
Will schools be allowed to reopen for the 2020 - 2021 school year?7/2/2020
Schools will be allowed to reopen for the new school year with in-person classroom learning if the State's COVID-19 containment efforts remain successful
If I need to leave my job for a short while because of COVID-19, am I covered under the Paid Sick Leave (PSL) law?6/9/2020
For covered service workers and employers with 50 or more employees, PSL will cover certain absences caused by COVID-19.
Should I be working from home? How do I stay safe as a non-essential worker?6/9/2020
Effective 8PM on Monday, March 23, all workers at non-essential businesses in the state shall work from home. The governor is encouraging all businesses to employ, to the maximum extent possible, any telecommuting or work-from-home procedures that they can safely implement.
My employee has been exposed to a family member who just returned from a Level 3 country. The employee shows no signs or symptoms of COVID-19, but I still want to send them home. Does the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) protect their job?6/9/2020
At this time, if the employee’s family member does not have a serious health condition under the FMLA, then their job will not be protected.
BusinessesFamilies and childrenSafetyOfficial GuidelinesEmployee
Safe Workplace Rules for Essential Businesses6/9/2020
Learn the latest guidelines for Employers and Employees for staying safe in the workplace
How should I clean my home or workspace to limit the risk of coronavirus infection?6/9/2020
CDC recommends daily cleaning and disinfecting of high-touch surfaces and household common areas.
I’m a health care worker. If a hospital in another part of the state needs assistance, am I able to work there?6/9/2020
Yes. Governor Lamont has ordered that for the duration of this emergency, health care providers may provide direct patient care.
I am shutting down my business for 14 days due to the emergency COVID-19 response. Do I have to pay a non-exempt or exempt employee who does not work at all during those 14 days?6/9/2020
No. You are not required to pay employees for any work week in which he or she performs no work at all during the week.