Environmental Science and Forestry

The Department of Environmental Science and Forestry conducts fundamental and applied research in diverse areas related to soil and water quality, tick-borne diseases, aquatic invasive plants, microbial ecology, forest management, and crop research. The department was formed in June 2022 when the Department of Environmental Sciences and the Department of Forestry and Horticulture merged.

Environmental Science and Forestry department scientists associated with the Center for Vector Biology and Zoonotic Diseases are studying tick ecology and integrated tick management practices, with the goal of reducing the risk of tick-borne infections in humans and domesticated animals. The department’s Environmental Chemistry group detects and studies behaviors of chemical contaminants in the environment, including binding to soil particles, biological availability in soil, mechanisms of natural breakdown and novel physical and chemical methods for their removal or destruction in soil and water. Department scientists in the Invasive Aquatic Plant program are examining the ecology of invasive aquatic plants and their impacts to water chemistry and habitat, as well as evaluating methods for their control. The department also has research programs in environmental microbiology involving carbon cycling in soils, molecular mechanisms of host specificity enabling the parasitic behavior of microsporidia, forest health including tree-fungus interactions, and novel production systems in urban agriculture.

A free service for Connecticut taxpayers the department runs is the Soil Testing Laboratory which analyzes samples from farms, homes, and commercial grounds for nutrient levels, and then recommends steps to improve soil fertility.  

The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station

Department of Environmental Science and Forestry
Slate Laboratory
123 Huntington Street
New Haven, CT 06511
Fax: (203) 974-8502


Williams, Scott C.: Chief Scientist, Department Head

E-mail: Scott.Williams@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8609 

 

Barsky, Joseph P.: Agricultural Research Technician II
E-mail: Joseph.Barsky@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8540

 

Bugbee, Gregory J.: Associate Agricultural Scientist
E-mail: Gregory.Bugbee@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8512

 

Chen, Zhihao: Agricultural Post-Doctoral Research Scientist
E-mail: Zhihao.Chen@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8569

 

Doherty, Riley S.: Agricultural Research Technician I

E-mail: Riley.Doherty@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8469

 

Foley, Jeremiah R. IV: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II

E-mail: Jeremiah.Foley@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8569

Keriö, Susanna: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II

E-mail: Susanna.Kerio@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8491

 

LaReau, Jacquelyn: Agricultural Research Technician I

E-mail: Jacquelyn.LaReau@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8615

 

Meng, Lingjun: Agricultural Post-Doctoral Research Scientist
E-mail: Lingjun.Meng@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8548

 

Nason, Sara L.: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II

E-mail: Sara.Nason@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8463

 

Qaseem, Mirza Faisal: Agricultural Post-Doctoral Research Scientist

E-mail: Faisal.Qaseem@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8515

 

Shabtai, ItamarAssistant Agricultural Scientist II

E-mail: Itamar.Shabtai@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8532

 

Stebbins, Summer: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Summer.Stebbins@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8545

 

Steven, Blaire T.: Associate Agricultural Scientist
E-mail: Blaire.Steven@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8461

 

Wang, Zhengyang (Philip): Agricultural Post-Doctoral Research Scientist
E-mail: Zhengyang.Wang@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8548

 

Ward, Elisabeth B.: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II

E-mail: Elisabeth.Ward@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8486

 

Whittinghill, Leigh J.: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II

E-mail: Leigh.Whittinghill@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8489

 

Yu, Yingxue (Charlie): Assistant Agricultural Scientist II

E-mail: Yingxue.Yu@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8522

 

Emeritus:

Gent, Martin P. N.

E-mail: Martin.Gent@ct.gov

 

Maynard, Abigail A.
E-mail: Abigail.Maynard@ct.gov

 

Pignatello, Joseph J.
E-mail: Joseph.Pignatello@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8518

 

Sawhney, Brij L. 

 

Vossbrinck, Charles R. 
E-mail: Charles.Vossbrinck@ct.gov

 

Ward, Jeffrey S.
E-mail: Jeffrey.Ward@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8495