Analytical Chemistry

The Department of Analytical Chemistry has been conducting high quality chemical analysis since 1875 and has organized its work, including both service and research activities, into two focus areas: Food Safety and Environmental Monitoring. The service component of the work consists of providing analyses of samples submitted by other State agencies, as well as samples submitted by Federal agencies such as the US Food and Drug Administration. The Department is one of 14 funded laboratories in the FDA Food Emergency Response Network (FERN) Chemistry Cooperative Agreement Program (https://www.fernlab.org/). The FERN is a network of state laboratories that receive funding and equipment from the FDA to support surveillance and associated activities related to chemical terrorism and the food supply. Two other FDA funded programs in the Department are the Manufactured Food Regulatory Program (MFRP) and the Animal Feed Regulatory Program (AFRP). Major research initiatives in the Department are focused on the fate and effects of engineered nanomaterials in food, the use of nanoscale nutrients to suppress crop disease, and the role of pesticides in pollinator decline.

 

As of December 2016, the CAES Department of Analytical Chemistry was awarded ISO/IEC 17025 Accreditation by the American Association for Laboratory Accreditation (A2LA) (https://www.a2la.org/scopepdf/4133-01.pdf ). The Scope of Accreditation covers multi-residue pesticide analysis by GC-MS/MS and LC-HRMS, as well as total arsenic by ICP-MS, in fresh and manufactured foods.

 

Resources and Equipment in the CAES Department of Analytical Chemistry

 


The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station

Department of Analytical Chemistry
Johnson-Horsfall Laboratory
123 Huntington Street
New Haven, CT 06511
Fax: (203) 974-8502


Dimkpa, Christian (Chris) O.: Department Head
E-mail: Christian.Dimkpa@ct.gov    
Voice: (203) 974-8523

 

Ammirata, Michael A.: Agricultural Research Technician I

E-mail: Michael.Ammirata@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8455

 

Arsenault, Terri: Assistant Agricultural Scientist I

E-mail: Terri.Arsenault@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8570

 

Bharadwaj, Anuja: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II

E-mail: Anuja.Bharadwaj@ct.gov  
Voice: (203) 974-8457

 

Cahill, Meghan S.: Agricultural Research Technician I

Email: Meghan.Cahill@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8470

 

Deng, Chaoyi: Agricultural Post-Doctoral Scientist
Chaoyi.Deng@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8449

 

Musante, Craig: Assistant Agricultural Scientist I

E-mail: Craig.Musante@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8454

 

Prapayotin-Riveros, Kitty: Agricultural Research Technician II

E-mail: Kitty.Prapayotin-Riveros@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8488

 

Ranciato, John F.: Agricultural Research Technician II

E-mail: John.Ranciato@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8608

 

Robb, Christina S.: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II

E-mail: Christina.Robb@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8451

 

Tamez, Carlos: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II

E-mail: Carlos.Tamez@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8453

 

Vaidya, Shital: Agricultural Post-Doctoral Scientist
Email: Shital.Vaidya@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8482

 

Wang, Yi: Agricultural Post-Doctoral Scientist

E-mail: Yi.Wang@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8457

 

Zuverza-Mena, Nubia: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II

E-mail: Nubia.Zuverza@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8459

 

Emeritus:

Eitzer, Brian D.

E-mail: Brian.Eitzer@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8453 

 

Krol, Walter

E-mail: Walter.Krol@ct.gov

Voice: (203) 974-8456 

 

Mattina, MaryJane Incorvia

E-mail: MaryJane.Mattina@ct.gov