Press Releases

Secretary Press Release Seal


Secretary Thomas Presents Democracy Cup Awards to Four Towns with the Highest 2022 Voter Turnout

(Hartford, CT) – Today, Secretary of the State Stephanie Thomas presented trophies to the local election officials in four Connecticut towns that distinguished themselves as the winners of the 2022 Democracy Cup.

The award is bestowed on municipalities with the highest voter turnout in the most-recent even-numbered election year with four categories based on town size - small, mid-sized, large, and city. This year’s winners are Deep River (small), Mansfield (mid-sized), Glastonbury (large), and Stamford (city).

Secretary Thomas extended her congratulations and appreciation for the work done to ensure each election is conducted smoothly and fairly.

“I spend much of time every day thinking about how to foster turnout. And the answer is complex. A lot of attention is given to policy, but it takes more than that to convince people to go out and cast a ballot” said Secretary Thomas. “It takes the hard work and care of election administrators who simply have to make things work - from working through a global pandemic to ensuring that lists are maintained and that voters are educated about how to cast a ballot.”

In the 2022 general election, total statewide turnout was 57.62% with 1,297,811 out of 2,252,216 registered voters casting a ballot. Turnout among the four winning towns was: 85.81% in Deep River, 71.90% in Mansfield; 66.82 % in Glastonbury and 51.53 % in Stamford.

Under Democracy Cup criteria, cities and towns with fewer than 10,000 people compete in the “small” category; cities and towns with between 10,000 and 30,000 people are in the “mid-sized” category; cities and towns with between 30,000 and 65,000 people are in the “large” category. Cities and towns with more than 65,000 people are in the “city” category.

Each community awarded the Democracy Cup will be able to host and display a trophy until the 2024 election.

Democracy Cup Winners 2000-2022

Year Small Town Mid-size Town Large Town City
2022 Deep River Mansfield Glastonbury Stamford
2020 Burlington Newtown Glastonbury Stamford
2018 Washington Granby Guilford West Hartford
2016 Pomfret Somers Wallingford Greenwich
2014 Cornwall Guilford
Glastonbury Fairfield
2012 Bridgewater Granby Middletown Stamford
2011 Hampton Middlebury
Trumbull Waterbury
2010 Roxbury
Granby Simsbury
2009 Bridgewater Orange East Haven Stamford
2008 New Hartford
2007 East Haven
North Haven West Hartford
2006 Union Westport West Hartford
2005 Middlebury Shelton West Hartford
2004 Washington Wethersfield Fairfield
2003 Washington Naugatuck West Hartford
2002 Middlebury Glastonbury West Hartford
2001 Washington Trumbull, Waterbury
2000 Washington Trumbull Waterbury

Photos of the events are attached below (credit to the Office of the Secretary of the State):

CT Democracy Cup - Stamford

Secretary Thomas, Stamford Mayor Caroline Simmons, and State Rep. David Michel, posed with members of the Town Clerk and Registrar of Voters offices.

CT Democracy Cup - Deep River

(Left to Right) Secretary Thomas with Deep River Registrar of Voters Lori Gregan, Town Clerk Amy Winchell, State Rep. Christine Palm, and First Selectman Angus Mcdonald.

CT Democracy Cup - Glastonbury

Secretary Thomas and Glastonbury Town Manager, Jonathan Luiz, posed with members of the Town Clerk and Register of Voters offices.

CT Democracy Cup - Mansfield

Secretary Thomas posed with members of the Mansfield Town Clerk and Register of Voters offices.


Twitter: Secretary of State on Twitter
Facebook: Secretary of State on Facebook